Disclosure: Saatva is a Nappedia partner. We earn a commission if you buy Saatva through our links. Helix doesn't pay us. That does not change what we write.
Both are medium-feel hybrids, and Mattress Clarity and NapLab score the Saatva a little higher overall. The main practical differences are price, delivery, and how long you get to decide.
Pick the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid if you want setup included, a year to decide, and the slow, hugging feel of memory foam. A Queen is $1,824, and a return costs $99.
Pick the Helix Midnight if you want to pay less ($1,109 for a Queen, $715 less) or a free return after 30 nights. Helix also built this feel for side sleepers.
What will each bed cost, including setup and a return?
Why this matters to you: The price tag is only part of it. Saatva includes delivery and setup in every price; Helix's box price doesn't include In-Home Setup and Removal. That service starts at $219 and isn't refunded once it's done.
Sale prices for the only feel each brand sells, checked Sep 27, 2026. Helix costs $715 less for a Queen. Add setup, which Saatva includes and Helix charges for, and the gap narrows.
Cost calculator
What will you pay to keep, return or exchange it?
Brand prices, Sep 27, 2026
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Pay up front
If you return it
If you exchange it
Helix Midnight
Pay up front
If you return it
If you exchange it
Sale prices for Saatva's Medium and Helix's Medium Feel with the standard Breathe Knit Cover. Helix's optional GlacioTex Cooling Pillow Top costs $280 more for a Queen. Helix doesn't sell the Midnight as a Split King.
Size
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Helix Midnight
Twin
$1,174
$749
Twin XL
$1,299
$839
Full
$1,624
$936
Queen
$1,824
$1,109
King
$2,324
$1,396
Cal King
$2,324
$1,396
Split King
$2,673
Not sold
Both brands show these as sale prices against higher list prices (Saatva Queen list $2,149; Helix Queen list $1,478.66, under a 25% sitewide discount active today). Prices change often, so recheck both before you buy.
Firmness
Feels checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
How firm is each bed?
Why this matters to you: Brands name their feels their own way, so one brand's Medium can be another's Luxury Firm. Sleep Foundation rates the feels it has reviewed on one 10-point scale.
Each bed here comes in one feel, shown on Sleep Foundation's 10-point firmness scale, where 1 is softest and 10 is firmest. Feel names are each brand's own; the note below flags any that differ or weren't rated. We don't test beds ourselves.
Saatva Memory Foam HybridFeels sold: Medium only
6
1 Softest10 Firmest
Medium 6
Helix MidnightFeels sold: Medium Feel only
6
1 Softest10 Firmest
Medium Feel 6
Sleep Foundation's firmness ratings. Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid review updated Oct 24, 2025; Helix Midnight review updated April 3, 2026.
Each sells one feel, and both land at 6. Sleep Foundation calls the Saatva's Medium medium firm.
Who fits
How did Sleep Foundation score each bed for your sleep position and weight?
Why this matters to you: Sleep Foundation scores each feel separately for lighter, average and heavier sleepers in each position, so a feel that suits one sleeper can score lower for another. These are one outlet's scores, not a promise of how a bed will feel to you.
Each brand sells this bed in one feel only. Below is each bed's own score from Sleep Foundation, out of 10, for nine sleep positions and weights. We don't test beds ourselves.
Fit finder
See each bed's score for your choices
Sleep Foundation scores
1. How you sleep
2. Your weight
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Helix Midnight
Share the bed or switch positions? Check each combination. We don't average scores across sleepers.
Sleep Foundation's score for each bed's only feel, out of 10. Bold marks the higher score, or both when they tie. Saatva's Memory Foam Hybrid review updated Oct 24, 2025; Helix's whole-line review, updated Apr 3, 2026, gives the Midnight its own table.
Your weight
Side
Back
Stomach
Under 130 lbs
Saatva8.5Helix9
Saatva9Helix8
Saatva9.5Helix8
130 to 230 lbs
Saatva9Helix9.5
Saatva8.5Helix7.5
Saatva8.5Helix7
Over 230 lbs
Saatva8.5Helix9
Saatva7.5Helix6.5
Saatva7.5Helix6
Sleep Foundation reviews Helix's whole hybrid line on one page. So we use only the sleeper-position table and firmness number it gives this exact model, not its overall or category scores.
Tester results
What do review sites say about feel, cooling, partner movement and edge support?
Why this matters to you: Review sites score the same bed differently. Each uses its own scale and tests, so we show every score as it was published and never add them up into one winner.
We don't test mattresses. These are three outlets' published scores, each on its own scale, never averaged. Sleep Foundation reviews Helix's whole line on one page, so it has no overall or category score for the Midnight here.
Scores as each outlet publishes them: Sleep Foundation · Mattress Clarity · NapLab. Mattress Clarity and NapLab both reviewed the Midnight and the Memory Foam Hybrid as their own models.
What they measured
Sleep Foundationout of 10 · Saatva reviewed Oct 24, 2025
The Saatva scores higher with every tester that scored both. Sleep Foundation reviews Helix by line, not by model, so it has no Midnight overall score here.
Motion isolation
Saatva 6.5Helix Not scored
Saatva 4Helix 4
Saatva 7.7Helix 8.5
NapLab favors the Helix; Mattress Clarity calls it a tie.
Edge support
Saatva 8Helix Not scored
Saatva 5Helix 4.4
Saatva 9.7Helix 9.5
The Saatva, at Mattress Clarity and NapLab.
Cooling
Saatva 8Helix Not scored
Saatva 4.5Helix 3.5
Saatva 10Helix 9
The Saatva scores a little higher for cooling at Mattress Clarity and NapLab.
Pressure relief
Saatva 8Helix Not scored
Saatva Not scoredHelix 4.3
Saatva 9Helix 9
NapLab calls it a tie. Mattress Clarity scores this differently for each brand, so we didn't cross those numbers.
Ease of moving
Saatva 7.5Helix Not scored
Saatva Not scoredHelix 4
Saatva 9Helix 7.3
NapLab found the Saatva springs back faster.
Smell on arrival
Not scored
Not scored
Saatva 10Helix 8.1
Not scored by Sleep Foundation or Mattress Clarity.
NapLab found less off-gassing smell from the Saatva. Both ship compressed less than a fully boxed all-foam bed, but Helix arrives rolled in a box; the Saatva arrives flat.
Company
Not scored
Not scored
Saatva 8.8Helix 9.4
Not scored by Sleep Foundation or Mattress Clarity.
NapLab scores Helix's company practices a little higher.
The beds
How is each bed built, and who is it for?
Memory foam hybrid
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
This bed pairs AirCradle memory foam over individually wrapped coils. It comes in one feel, Medium, and one height, 11.5 in.
Fire barrier: a unique blend of natural plant thistle and wool, per Saatva
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid, Queen, as Saatva lists it. No inch or density figure is published for the foam layers. Layer order only, not to scale.
A crew brings it to your room and sets it up for free. You get 365 nights to try it, and a return costs $99. Sleep Foundation scores it 8.5 to 9 out of 10 in every position for sleepers from 130 to 230 lbs.
Who may like this bed?
You want it carried in and set up for you.
You like the slow, body-hugging feel of memory foam.
You want a full year to decide, with no waiting period.
Who may prefer another bed?
You want a free return; Helix Midnight has one.
You want the lower price; Helix costs $715 less for a Queen.
You want a firmer or softer option; this model comes in Medium only.
This bed layers gel memory foam and responsive foam over up to 1,000 pocketed coils, in one feel Helix built for side sleepers. It comes in one height, 11.5 in.
Fire barrier: a fire retardant yarn made from a chemical-free rayon barrier, per Helix
The Helix Midnight, as Helix lists it (7 layers, standard cover and support). Coil count not published beyond "up to 1,000." Layer order only, not to scale.
It ships in a box by FedEx, and you set it up yourself unless you pay for Helix's In-Home Setup and Removal. That starts at $219 and isn't refunded once it's done. You get 120 nights, but you'll need to sleep on it 30 nights before you can send it back. The return itself is free.
Who may like this bed?
You want a lower price and a free return.
You're a side sleeper; Helix built this feel for that.
You're fine ordering and unboxing the bed yourself.
Who may prefer another bed?
You'd rather not carry and unbox a 100 lb bed.
You want more than 120 nights, or no waiting period before a return.
You want a split king; Helix doesn't sell one for the Midnight.
What do the brands say about fire barriers, fiberglass and certifications?
Why this matters to you: Every mattress sold in the U.S. must pass a federal open-flame test. Some brands pass it with a barrier made with glass fiber, which can get out if the cover is removed. Know what's inside before it's in your bedroom.
Both brands name a fire barrier and say in writing that it isn't fiberglass.
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Fire barrier: plant thistle and wool blend
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Saatva says it uses "a unique blend of natural plant thistle & wool as flame retardants."
No fiberglass, brand says
Every Saatva mattress
Saatva's FAQ: "No. We never use fiberglass or toxic chemical flame retardants/barriers in any of our mattresses."
CertiPUR-US foams and GREENGUARD Gold
The foam layers
The product page lists both certifications for this model's foams.
Helix Midnight
Fire barrier: rayon
Helix Midnight
Helix says all its mattresses use "a fire retardant yarn made from a chemical-free Rayon barrier," in the form of a small foam layer.
No fiberglass, brand says
Every Helix mattress
Helix's support center: "No, every Helix mattress is made without the use of fiberglass."
CertiPUR-US foams
All foam in the bed
The Midnight's product page lists "CertiPUR-US Certified Foams" among its features.
Check the law tag when it arrives. It lists what the bed is made of. If it doesn't settle the fiberglass question, ask the brand in writing. Never remove a cover that says not to. Why fiberglass in mattresses matters →
Living with it
How do delivery, setup and care compare?
Why this matters to you: A 100 lb box on your porch is a different evening from a crew that sets up the bed. These details decide the first night.
Weights, sizes and care rules from each brand's own pages. Delivery terms here are for the contiguous U.S.; check with the brand for Alaska, Hawaii and other areas.
Delivery, setup and care for Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid and Helix Midnight
Detail
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Helix Midnight
Sizes
Twin to Cal King, plus Split King
Twin to Cal King, plus Short Queen and RV King; no split king
Queen weight
70 lbs
100 lbs
How it arrives
Flat, carried in by a delivery crew
Rolled in a box, by FedEx
How long it takes
9 to 21 days; built after you order
Production 3 to 5 business days, then 2 to 5 days in transit
Adjustable base
Yes
Yes, works with any adjustable base
Upkeep
Vacuum at least twice a year; deodorize with baking soda
Spot-clean the cover only; don't remove it
Try it in a store
Saatva viewing rooms (30 locations today)
Partner showrooms, for example Raymour & Flanigan
Ease of moving: NapLab scores the Saatva easier to move on (9 against 7.3 out of 10), which usually means less effort turning over at night. Mattress Clarity scored only the Helix on this.
Fine print
Terms checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
What are the trial, return and exchange rules?
Why this matters to you: "Free returns" and "lifetime warranty" both come with rules. Know what a return costs you before the bed arrives.
Here's what each brand's own policy pages say, in plain words.
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid: your trial, night by night
Day 1The bed arrives
Any nightNo wait before a return
Night 365The last night to ask
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to pay
Return it$99Taken from your refund
Swap it$99Saatva builds a new one; only one feel is sold for this model
Not covered by the trial: adjustable bases, even in a bundle
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid: one long trial, one fee.
Helix Midnight: your trial, night by night
Day 1The box arrives
Night 30The first night you can return
Night 120The last night to ask
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to pay
Return it$0Setup and removal fees aren't refunded
Swap itFreeFor a mattress of equal or greater value, no 30-night wait
Limit: only two mattresses may be returned per customer or household
Helix Midnight: a shorter trial with a free return.
Warranty
Terms checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
What does each warranty cover, and what voids it?
Why this matters to you: A warranty covers defects, not comfort. Your bed base, stains and how deep a sag is all decide whether a claim is paid.
From saatva.com/warranty and helixsleep.com/pages/helix-mattress-warranty, checked Sep 27, 2026.
Rule
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Helix Midnight
Sag that counts
Deeper than 1.5 in
Deeper than 1.5 in
Full replacement
Years 1 and 2
Years 1 through 10
After that
$149 fee to repair and re-cover it, no stated limit
Prorated: you pay 50% at years 11 to 15, 60% at 16 to 20, 75% from year 21 on
Your bed base
Slats less than 4 in apart; center support on a Queen or larger
Slats no more than 5.5 in apart
Stains
Void. Any stain can end coverage
Not covered. Burns, cuts, tears, liquid damage and stains are excluded
If you sell it
Ends. Original buyer only
Ends. Original buyer only
Shipping for a claim
Not stated on the warranty page
Not stated on the warranty page
The trade-off: Saatva charges a $149 fee for each repair from year 3 on, with no stated limit. Helix replaces the mattress free for the first 10 years, then charges a rising share of the price after that.
Both brands cover a dip deeper than 1.5 in, so measure it the same way for either bed.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
How to measure a sag before you file a claim with either brand. Drawing not to scale.
Owner reviews
Review counts change daily
What do owner and company ratings show?
Why this matters to you: Each site draws a different mix of reviewers. Brand sites rate the mattress; Trustpilot and the BBB rate the company.
Ratings as each site showed them. Trustpilot and BBB profiles checked Sep 27, 2026; Saatva's own reviews Sep 27, 2026.
Mattress ratings on each brand's page, and company ratings on Trustpilot and the BBB, for Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid and Helix Midnight
Site
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Helix Midnight
The brand's own site
4.8 from 337 reviews (Memory Foam Hybrid page)
Not shown on the Midnight product page
These ratings appear on the brand's own product page.
Trustpilot
3.4 from 1,378 reviews; profile claimed
4.3 from 242 reviews; profile claimed
Trustpilot marks both profiles claimed by the brand.
Better Business Bureau
A+ rating; accredited since 2011
A+ rating; accredited since 2020
A BBB rating is the BBB's view of how a business is likely to deal with customers, based on its complaint record and other business details (how the BBB rates). It doesn't rate how the bed sleeps.
What owners report: we haven't read enough owner reviews of either model specifically to name a pattern, so we don't.
Quick Answers
Quick answers before you buy
Which is cheaper, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid or the Helix Midnight?
The Helix Midnight, by $715 for a Queen ($1,109 against $1,824, checked Sep 27, 2026). Saatva includes setup and old-bed removal; Helix charges extra for In-Home Setup and Removal.
Which is cheaper to return?
The Helix Midnight, if you skip paid setup. Helix picks it up for free once you've slept on it 30 nights. Saatva takes $99 from your refund, but there's no waiting period on its 365-night trial.
Does either one arrive in a box?
Only the Helix Midnight. It comes rolled in a box by FedEx, and a Queen weighs 100 lbs. A Saatva crew carries the Memory Foam Hybrid into your room and sets it up for free.
Does either mattress contain fiberglass?
Neither, both brands say. Saatva names a plant thistle and wool barrier; Helix names a rayon barrier. Both state in writing that they don't use fiberglass.
Which one scores higher with testers?
The Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid. Sleep Foundation and NapLab both score it above 9 out of 10 overall, and NapLab scores it higher than the Midnight's 8.73.
Which is firmer?
About the same. Sleep Foundation rates Saatva's Medium feel a 6 and Helix's Medium Feel also a 6, on its 10-point scale where 10 is firmest.
Which is better if you're a heavier sleeper?
The Saatva scores a little higher. Sleep Foundation gives it 7.5 out of 10 for back and stomach sleepers over 230 lbs, against 6.5 and 6 for the Midnight.
Can I use an adjustable base with either one?
Yes, with both. Saatva says the Memory Foam Hybrid works on an adjustable base, and Helix says the Midnight works with any adjustable base.
Brand facts come from each brand's own pages. Scores come from the outlets named. The date shows when we last checked, or when the outlet last updated.
: Rechecked Helix's page. Removed a GREENGUARD Gold claim Helix's page doesn't make; it lists CertiPUR-US.
: Rebuilt this comparison with prices by size, a cost calculator, fit by position and weight, and tester scores. Fire barriers, returns and warranty rules were rechecked on each brand's own pages.
See a fact that's out of date? Tell us and we'll recheck it.
Find your match
Not sure which bed fits you?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep. We'll show you the beds that fit.