Avocado Green vs. Birch Natural

Disclosure: No brand on this page pays Nappedia, and nothing here is paid placement.

Avocado Green mattress on a reclaimed-wood bed
Birch Natural mattress on a cane bed
On this page (15 sections)

The 30-second verdict

Both are organic latex hybrids with no fiberglass, and Sleep Foundation and Mattress Clarity score them close overall. Birch costs less and scores higher at Sleep Foundation and NapLab; Avocado gives you more feels to pick from and a longer trial.

Pick the Avocado Green Mattress if you want five feels, a full year to decide, or a store to try it in first. A Queen in the Medium feel is $2,399, and a return costs $99.

Check Pricing

Pick Birch Natural if you want to pay less ($1,399 for a Queen) or one feel already chosen for you.

Check Pricing
Queen price Avocado $2,399 (Medium) Birch $1,399
Height Avocado 11 in (Medium) Birch 10 in
Trial Avocado 365 nights Birch 120 nights
Return cost Avocado $99 Birch $99 removal fee
Warranty Avocado 25 years Birch Limited lifetime
Delivery Avocado Boxed, FedEx or UPS Birch Boxed, 5 to 8 days
Where the Avocado Green Mattress wins
  • More feels. Five options, from Firm to Ultra Plush, sold across three products.
  • A longer trial. 365 nights against Birch's 120.
  • Stores to try it in. 13 Avocado-run stores plus retail partners; Birch sells online and through partner showrooms.
Where Birch Natural wins
  • Lower price. $1,000 less for a Queen.
  • Slightly higher tester scores. Sleep Foundation and NapLab both score it a little above the Avocado overall.
  • A Trustpilot score close to its own site rating. Avocado's Trustpilot score is far below its site rating, and its profile is unclaimed.
Side by side

How do the key facts compare?

Every value comes from each brand's own pages, checked Sep 27, 2026. The biggest gaps are price and how many feels you can pick from.

Avocado Green Mattress (Medium feel) and Birch Natural, as each brand publishes them
DetailAvocado GreenBirch Natural
TypeLatex-over-coil hybridLatex-over-coil hybrid
Queen price$2,399 (Medium)$1,399 (sale)
Height11 in (Medium); 10 to 15.5 in across feels10 in
FeelsFirm, Medium, Plush, plus separate Extra Firm and Ultra Plush mattressesOne feel, medium-firm
Top layersOrganic Dunlop latex over an organic cotton coverOrganic latex under a natural wool comfort layer
CoilsUp to 1,379 wrapped coils in 7 zones (8 in unit)Up to 1,000 wrapped coils (8 in layer)
Fire barrierOrganic woolFiberglass-free fiber blend base layer, separate from the wool comfort layer
Trial365 nights, 30-night minimum120 nights, 30-night minimum
Return cost$99, taken from your refund, plus any shipping or setup fees you paid$99 removal fee
ExchangeAllowed after 30 nights; the new item isn't covered by a further trial or returnFree, for a mattress of equal or higher value
Warranty25 years; full coverage for 10 years, then proratedLimited lifetime; full coverage for 10 years, then prorated
DeliveryFree; FedEx or UPS for Queen and smaller, doorstep delivery for King and up; paid in-home setup optionalFree; ships compressed in a box, 5 to 8 business days
BuyCheck PricingCheck Pricing
Price

Prices checked Sep 27, 2026 · they change often

What will each bed cost, including setup and a return?

Why this matters to you: Both charge a flat $99 if you send the mattress back. Birch calls it a removal fee; Avocado calls it a return fee. Neither refunds shipping or a paid setup.

Avocado's list price for its Medium feel and Birch's sale price for its only feel, checked Sep 27, 2026. Birch costs $1,000 less for a Queen.

Cost calculator

What will you pay to keep, return or exchange it?

Brand prices, Sep 27, 2026
Avocado Green
Pay up front
If you return it
If you swap feels
Birch Natural
Pay up front
If you return it
If you swap feels

Avocado: Medium Tight-Top, 11 in. Birch: its only feel, medium-firm, 10 in. Split King isn't sold by either brand in these builds.
SizeAvocado GreenBirch Natural
Twin$1,599$1,030
Twin XL$1,699$1,124
Full$2,099$1,265
Queen$2,399$1,399
King$2,999$1,686
Cal King$2,999$1,686
Split KingNot soldNot sold
Birch's price is 25% off its $1,865.33 Queen list price with a promo code. Avocado also sells Firm and Plush feels on this product, plus separate Extra Firm and Ultra Plush mattresses, at different prices. Prices change often, so recheck both before you buy.
Firmness

Feels checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026

What firmness options can you choose?

Why this matters to you: Brands name their feels their own way, so one brand's Medium can be another's Luxury Firm. Sleep Foundation rates the feels it has reviewed on one 10-point scale.

The firmness choices for the beds compared here, on Sleep Foundation's 10-point firmness scale, where 1 is softest and 10 is firmest. Feel names are each brand's own; the note below flags any that differ or weren't rated. We don't test beds ourselves.

Avocado GreenFeels sold: Firm, Medium, Plush, plus separate Extra Firm and Ultra Plush mattresses
  • Box-Top build 5
  • Pillow-Top build 6
  • Standard build 7
Birch NaturalFeels sold: Medium-firm only
  • Medium-firm 6
Sleep Foundation's firmness ratings. Avocado review updated Oct 13, 2025; Birch review updated May 28, 2026.
Sleep Foundation rated three Avocado builds under older names (Standard, Pillow-Top and Box-Top). Avocado now sells by feel name, and we couldn't match the two lists for certain. Birch's one feel lands at 6.
Who fits

Which feel did Sleep Foundation score highest for your sleep position and weight?

Why this matters to you: Sleep Foundation scores each feel separately for lighter, average and heavier sleepers in each position, so a feel that suits one sleeper can score lower for another. These are one outlet's scores, not a promise of how a bed will feel to you.

Below is the feel of each bed that Sleep Foundation's testers scored highest for each sleep position and body weight, out of 10. We don't test beds ourselves.

Fit finder

Find the top-scoring feel for your choices

Sleep Foundation scores
1. How you sleep
2. Your weight
Avocado Green
Birch Natural

Share the bed or switch positions? Check each combination. We don't average scores across sleepers.
Best-scoring feel of each bed, out of 10. Bold marks the higher score, or both when they tie. Sleep Foundation's Avocado review updated Oct 13, 2025; its Birch review updated May 28, 2026.
Your weightSideBackStomach
Under 130 lbsAvocado Pillow-Top 8.5Birch 7.5Avocado Pillow-Top 9.5Birch 9Avocado Standard or Pillow-Top 9Birch 9
130 to 230 lbsAvocado Pillow-Top 9Birch 8Avocado Pillow-Top 9Birch 8.5Avocado Standard or Pillow-Top 8Birch 8
Over 230 lbsAvocado Pillow-Top 8.5Birch 7.5Avocado Pillow-Top 8Birch 7.5Avocado Standard or Pillow-Top 7Birch 7
Avocado sells three builds that Sleep Foundation tested separately; Birch sells only one. That's why Avocado's best-scoring build usually beats Birch's single build here, even though Birch scores a little higher in Sleep Foundation's overall rating.
Tester results

What do review sites say about feel, cooling, partner movement and edge support?

Why this matters to you: Review sites score the same bed differently. Each uses its own scale and tests, so we show every score as it was published and never add them up into one winner.

We don't test mattresses. These are three outlets' published scores, each on its own scale, never averaged. The higher score in each pair is marked; a tie is not.

Scores as each outlet publishes them: Sleep Foundation · Mattress Clarity · NapLab. Mattress Clarity and NapLab each tested the brand's default build; Sleep Foundation tested three Avocado builds and Birch's one build.
What they measuredSleep Foundationout of 10 · Avocado review updated Oct 13, 2025; Birch review updated May 28, 2026Mattress Clarityout of 5 · Avocado review Sep 16, 2026; Birch review Sep 21, 2026NapLabout of 10 · both reviews Sep 18, 2026
Overall scoreAvocado 8.7Birch 8.8Avocado 4.4Birch 4.3Avocado 8.98Birch 9.47
Sleep Foundation and NapLab score Birch higher; Mattress Clarity has the Avocado a hair in front.
Motion isolationAvocado 6Birch 6Avocado 3Birch 4Avocado 9Birch 9.8
Birch, at Mattress Clarity and NapLab. Sleep Foundation calls it a tie.
Edge supportAvocado 7.5Birch 8.5Avocado 4.6Birch 4Avocado 9.9Birch 8.1
The testers disagree. Sleep Foundation favors Birch; Mattress Clarity and NapLab favor Avocado.
CoolingAvocado 8.5Birch 8.5Avocado 3.5Birch 4Avocado 9Birch 10
Both sleep cool. Mattress Clarity and NapLab give Birch a small edge.
Pressure reliefAvocado 6.5Birch 6.5Avocado 4.17Birch 3.5Avocado 8Birch 9
Mixed. Mattress Clarity favors Avocado; NapLab favors Birch.
Ease of movingAvocado 8.5Birch 8.5Avocado 5Birch 5Avocado 9.2Birch 10
Close to even. Only NapLab splits them, favoring Birch.
Smell on arrivalNot scoredNot scoredAvocado 9.7Birch 10Not scored by Sleep Foundation or Mattress Clarity.
Both score well. NapLab is the only outlet that rates this, and scores Birch a touch higher.
The beds

How is each bed built, and who is it for?

Latex-over-coil hybrid

Avocado Green

Avocado Green mattress on a reclaimed-wood bed
Avocado Green

The Green Mattress is Avocado's organic latex hybrid, with wrapped coils under a latex comfort layer and organic wool for both comfort and fire protection. It comes in three feels sold on this product, plus two more sold as separate mattresses.

Avocado Green cutaway, top to bottom: Organic cotton cover, Latex comfort layer, 2 in, Organic wool fire barrier, 8 in pocketed coil unit, Cotton and wool base layer. Fire barrier: organic wool. Layer order only, not to scale.Organic cotton coverLatex comfort layer, 2 inOrganic wool fire barrier8 in pocketed coil unitCotton and wool baselayer

Fire barrier: organic wool, the mattress's flame barrier, per Avocado

Avocado Green Mattress, Medium Tight-Top, Queen, as Avocado lists it. The Medium build also adds 1 in of latex to the base layer. Layer order only, not to scale.

You get a full year to decide, and a return costs $99. Sleep Foundation tested three builds of this mattress. Its best-scoring build, the Pillow-Top, scored 8.5 to 9.5 across most positions and weights.

Who may like this bed?

  • You want a feel picked for you: Firm, Medium, Plush, or two more built firmer or plusher still.
  • You want a full year to decide.
  • You want a retail store nearby to try it first.

Who may prefer another bed?

  • You want the lowest price; Birch costs less.
  • You don't want to pick from five feels.
  • You weigh a Trustpilot score heavily; Birch's is much closer to its own site rating.
Latex-over-coil hybrid

Birch Natural

Birch Natural mattress on a cane bed
Birch Natural

Birch Natural puts an organic latex layer over individually wrapped steel coils. A natural wool comfort layer sits on top, and a separate fire barrier sits below the coils. It comes in one feel, medium-firm.

Birch Natural cutaway, top to bottom: Organic cotton cover, Natural wool comfort layer, Organic latex comfort layer, Up to 1,000 wrapped coils, Fiberglass-free fire barrier. Fire barrier: fiberglass-free fiber blend. Layer order only, not to scale.Organic cotton coverNatural wool comfortlayerOrganic latex comfortlayerUp to 1,000 wrapped coilsFiberglass-free firebarrier

Fire barrier: a fiberglass-free fire-retardant fiber blend base layer, separate from the wool comfort layer, per Birch

Birch Natural, Queen, as Birch lists it. Cover has a matelasse weave; the coil unit is 8 in. Layer order only, not to scale.

It ships compressed in a box, free, in 5 to 8 business days. You get 120 nights, and a return costs a $99 removal fee. Testers gave it slightly higher marks than the Avocado at Sleep Foundation and NapLab.

Who may like this bed?

  • You want a lower price. A Queen costs about $1,000 less.
  • You want one feel, already chosen for you.
  • You want a mattress the American Chiropractic Association endorses.

Who may prefer another bed?

  • You want more than one firmness option; Avocado sells five.
  • You want more than 120 nights to decide.
  • You want a return with no removal fee.
Safety

Checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026

What do the brands say about fire barriers, fiberglass and certifications?

Why this matters to you: Every mattress sold in the U.S. must pass a federal open-flame test. Some brands pass it with a barrier made with glass fiber, which can get out if the cover is removed. Know what's inside before it's in your bedroom.

Both brands say their mattress is free of fiberglass. Avocado's wool is itself the fire barrier. Birch's barrier is a separate fiber blend layer below the coils, and its wool is only a comfort layer.

Avocado Green

Fire barrier: organic wool
Avocado Green Mattress
Avocado says organic wool "serves as the flame barrier."
No fiberglass, brand says
Every Avocado Green Mattress
Avocado's FAQ: "Yes - no fiberglass as a fire barrier, and none anywhere else, in any configuration."
GOLS, GOTS and GREENGUARD Gold
The latex, cotton, and whole mattress
Outside groups certify the organic latex (GOLS), the cotton (GOTS), and low chemical emissions (Greenguard Gold).

Birch Natural

Fire barrier: fiberglass-free fiber blend
Birch Natural
Birch calls its base layer "a fire retardant fiber blend that provides protection without the use of fiberglass." Its wool is a separate comfort layer.
No fiberglass, brand says
Birch Natural
Birch says the mattress is "free of any polyurethane foams, fiberglass, formaldehyde, or pesticides," meeting Greenguard Gold's chemical emissions limits.
GOLS and GREENGUARD Gold
The organic latex and whole mattress
An outside group certifies the latex as organic (GOLS); Greenguard Gold covers chemical emissions from the finished mattress.

Check the law tag when it arrives. It lists what the bed is made of. If it doesn't settle the fiberglass question, ask the brand in writing. Never remove a cover that says not to. Why fiberglass in mattresses matters 

Living with it

How do delivery, setup and care compare?

Why this matters to you: How heavy the box is, and who carries it in, decides your first day. Avocado's Queen weighs 101 lbs; Birch doesn't publish a weight. These details decide the first day.

Weights, sizes and care rules from each brand's own pages. Delivery terms here are for the contiguous U.S.; check with the brand for Alaska, Hawaii and other areas.

Delivery, setup and care for Avocado Green and Birch Natural
DetailAvocado GreenBirch Natural
SizesTwin to Cal King; a split size is listed but not soldTwin to Cal King; no split sizes
Queen weight101 lbs (Medium feel)Not published on Birch's pages
How it arrivesBoxed; FedEx or UPS for Queen and smaller, a heavier doorstep delivery for King and Cal KingCompressed, rolled and boxed, by FedEx Ground
How long it takesReady to ship in 1 to 3 business daysShips in 5 to 8 business days
In-home setupOptional, $249 and up by weight, plus removal of your old bedOptional in-home setup and old-bed removal, through Ryder
Adjustable baseNot stated on Avocado's pagesYes; Birch sells its own adjustable base
UpkeepNever flip it. Rotate head to toe monthly for 6 months, then every other monthBirch doesn't publish rotation or flip instructions for this model
Try it in a store13 Avocado-run stores, plus retail partnersPartner showrooms

Both ship in a box, but Birch doesn't spell out rotation care the way Avocado does, and its pages don't state a mattress weight.

Fine print

Terms checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026

What are the trial, return and exchange rules?

Why this matters to you: "Free returns" and "lifetime warranty" both come with rules. Know what a return costs you before the bed arrives.

Here's what each brand's own policy pages say, in plain words.

Avocado Green: your trial, night by night
  1. Day 1The bed arrives
  2. Night 30The first night you can return
  3. Night 365The last night to ask
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to pay
Return it$99Taken from your refund
Swap itNo fee statedThe new bed isn't covered by a further trial or return

Not covered by the trial: one return of each product type per household

Avocado Green Mattress: a year to decide, $99 if you send it back.
Birch Natural: your trial, night by night
  1. Day 1The box arrives
  2. 30 nights minimumBirch expects a short break-in period first
  3. Night 120The last night to ask
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to pay
Return it$99A removal fee, to cover pickup
Swap itFreeFor a mattress of equal or higher value

Not stated: a fixed minimum number of nights before you can ask; Birch only says to expect a break-in period

Birch Natural: a shorter trial, the same $99 fee.
Warranty

Terms checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026

What does each warranty cover, and what voids it?

Why this matters to you: A warranty covers defects, not comfort. Your bed base, stains and how deep a sag is all decide whether a claim is paid.
From Avocado's warranty page and Birch's warranty page, checked Sep 27, 2026.
RuleAvocado GreenBirch Natural
Sag that countsDeeper than 1.5 inDeeper than 1.5 in
Years 1 to 10Full coverage, non-prorated (replacement value and shipping)Full coverage, non-prorated (repair or replace at no cost)
Year 11 onProrated, costs increasing 5% a year, through year 25Prorated, for the rest of your ownership
Your bed base5 to 6 leg supports, at least 1 center support on Queen or larger; slats no more than 5 in apartA matching foundation or adjustable base; slats no more than 5.5 in apart
If you sell itEnds. Original buyer onlyEnds. Original buyer only
Shipping for a claimCovered in years 1 to 10; you pay it in the prorated yearsFree in years 1 to 10; a prorated charge applies after

The trade-off: Birch calls its coverage a Limited Lifetime warranty, running for as long as you own the mattress. Avocado's coverage is fixed at 25 years. Both pay in full for the first 10 years, then prorate the cost after that.

Measuring a mattress dip with a straight edge and a ruler Straight edge across the bed Dip depth Mattress, nobody lying on it Measuring a mattress dip with a straight edge and a ruler Straight edge across the bed Dip depth Mattress, nobody lying on it

Both brands cover a dip deeper than 1.5 in, so measure it the same way for either bed.

  1. Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
  2. Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
  3. Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
How to measure a sag before you file a claim with either brand. Drawing not to scale.
Owner reviews

Review counts change daily

What do owner and company ratings show?

Why this matters to you: Each site draws a different mix of reviewers. Brand sites rate the mattress; Trustpilot and the BBB rate the company.

Ratings as each site showed them. Brand site ratings from each product page; Trustpilot and BBB checked Sep 27, 2026.

Mattress ratings on each brand's page, and company ratings on Trustpilot and the BBB, for Avocado Green and Birch Natural
SiteAvocado GreenBirch Natural
The brand's own site4.6 from 19,534 reviews4.4 from 9,456 reviews
Each brand runs this review box on its own product page.
Trustpilot1.8 from 88 reviews; profile unclaimed4.5 from 75 reviews; profile claimed
These ratings appear on the brand's own product page. Trustpilot's smaller samples can swing more with each new review.
Better Business BureauA rating; not accreditedA+ rating; accredited (listed under parent company Helix Sleep's profile)
A BBB rating is the BBB's view of how a business is likely to deal with customers, based on its complaint record and other business details (how the BBB rates). It doesn't rate how the bed sleeps.

What to watch: Avocado's Trustpilot score (1.8) sits far below its own site rating (4.6), and its profile is unclaimed. Birch's Trustpilot score (4.5) sits close to its site rating, and its profile is claimed. We draw no conclusion from either number alone.

Quick Answers

Quick answers before you buy

Which is cheaper, the Avocado Green Mattress or Birch Natural?

Birch Natural, by $1,000 for a Queen ($1,399 on sale against $2,399 for Avocado's Medium feel, checked Sep 27, 2026). Avocado's price covers one of five feels; Birch sells only one.

Which mattress is firmer?

Neither publishes a single number you can compare directly. Avocado sells five feels, from Firm to Ultra Plush. Birch sells one feel, which it calls medium-firm.

Which is better for heavier sleepers?

Sleep Foundation's ratings favor Avocado's best-scoring build for side and back sleepers over 230 lbs, and call it a tie for stomach sleepers. Neither brand states a maximum sleeper weight for these models.

Which is cheaper to return?

Both charge $99. Avocado calls it a return fee; Birch calls it a removal fee. You'll get a full year to decide with Avocado and 120 nights with Birch.

Does either mattress contain fiberglass?

No, both brands say in writing. Avocado uses organic wool as its fire barrier. Birch uses a separate fiberglass-free fiber blend layer for its barrier. Its wool isn't the barrier; it's a comfort layer.

How does each one arrive?

Both ship in a box. Avocado ships Queen and smaller sizes by FedEx or UPS, and King or Cal King by a heavier doorstep delivery. You can pay extra for in-home setup. Birch ships compressed in a box, free, in 5 to 8 business days.

Which has the longer warranty?

Birch's is open-ended. It calls its coverage a Limited Lifetime warranty, lasting as long as the original owner keeps the mattress. Avocado's stops at 25 years. Both pay in full for the first 10 years; after that, you'll pay a growing share.

Sources

Where every fact on this page comes from

Brand facts come from each brand's own pages. Scores come from the outlets named. The date shows when we last checked, or when the outlet last updated.

  1. Avocado Green Mattress product page: prices, layers, construction, certifications, fire barrier, weight, deliverySep 27, 2026
  2. Avocado: dimensions and weights by sizeSep 27, 2026
  3. Avocado: rotate or flip care instructionsSep 27, 2026
  4. Avocado: return policySep 27, 2026
  5. Avocado: return process for mattresses and toppersSep 27, 2026
  6. Avocado: exchange policySep 27, 2026
  7. Avocado: warranty termsSep 27, 2026
  8. Avocado: shipping and in-home delivery costSep 27, 2026
  9. Avocado: retail storesSep 27, 2026
  10. Trustpilot: Avocado Green MattressSep 27, 2026
  11. Better Business Bureau: Avocado Green MattressSep 27, 2026
  12. Birch Natural product page: prices, layers, construction, certifications, fire barrier, deliverySep 27, 2026
  13. Birch: mattress warranty termsSep 27, 2026
  14. Better Business Bureau: Helix Sleep, listing Birch as a brandSep 27, 2026
  15. Trustpilot: BirchSep 27, 2026
  16. Sleep Foundation: Avocado Mattress reviewOct 13, 2025
  17. Sleep Foundation: Birch Mattress reviewMay 28, 2026
  18. Mattress Clarity: Avocado reviewSep 16, 2026
  19. Mattress Clarity: Birch Mattress reviewSep 21, 2026
  20. NapLab: Avocado Mattress reviewSep 18, 2026
  21. NapLab: Birch Mattress reviewSep 18, 2026

What changed on this page?

  • : Rechecked both brands' pages. Corrected Birch's 30-night minimum and in-home setup, and Avocado's rotation schedule and return deductions.
  • : first published, with prices by size, a cost calculator, fit by position and weight, and tester scores. Fire barriers, returns and warranty rules come from each brand's own pages.

See a fact that's out of date? Tell us and we'll recheck it.

Find your match

Not sure which bed fits you?

Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep. We'll show you the beds that fit.

Every fact sourced Under 60 seconds No email required