Disclosure: Saatva is a Nappedia partner. We earn a commission if you buy Saatva through our links. Helix doesn't pay us. That does not change what we write.
These beds serve different buyers. Saatva designed the Rx for sleepers with chronic back and joint conditions, and it costs much more. The Midnight Luxe is Helix's best-selling, all-around bed, and Sleep Foundation named it best mattress overall for 2026.
Pick the Saatva Rx if you have chronic back or joint pain, want it set up for you, or want a year to decide. A Queen is $3,214 on sale, and a return costs $99.
Pick the Helix Midnight Luxe if you want to pay $1,340 less ($1,874 for a Queen), a free return after 30 nights, or you sleep on your side. Sleep Foundation scored it 9.5 to 10 there in every weight group.
What will each bed cost, including setup and a return?
Why this matters to you: The price tag is only part of it. Helix charges from $219 for in-home setup and removal, and keeps that fee if you return the bed. Saatva includes both for free but keeps $99 of a refund.
Sale prices checked Sep 27, 2026. The Saatva Rx costs about $1,340 more for a Queen than the Helix Midnight Luxe, and it costs more at every other size too.
Cost calculator
What will you pay to keep, return or exchange it?
Brand prices, Sep 27, 2026
Saatva Rx
Pay up front
If you return it
If you exchange it
Helix Midnight Luxe
Pay up front
If you return it
If you exchange it
Sale prices. Saatva Rx: 15 in height, Supportive Plush, its only option. Helix: TENCEL cover with the standard Luxe Layer; a GlacioTex cooling cover or ErgoAlign layer costs more.
Size
Saatva Rx
Helix Midnight Luxe
Twin
$1,814
$1,119
Twin XL
$2,089
$1,299
Full
$2,854
$1,589
Queen
$3,214
$1,874
King
$3,844
$2,249
Cal King
$3,844
$2,249
Split King
$4,303
Not sold
Helix shows these as sale prices against higher list prices (Queen list is $2,498.66). Saatva's sale prices come from a sitewide discount off its own list prices. Prices change often, so recheck both before you buy.
Firmness
Feels checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
How firm is each bed?
Why this matters to you: Brands name their feels their own way, so one brand's Medium can be another's Luxury Firm. Sleep Foundation rates the feels it has reviewed on one 10-point scale.
Each bed here comes in one feel, shown on Sleep Foundation's 10-point firmness scale, where 1 is softest and 10 is firmest. Feel names are each brand's own; the note below flags any that differ or weren't rated. We don't test beds ourselves.
Saatva RxFeels sold: Supportive Plush only
4
1 Softest10 Firmest
Supportive Plush 4
Helix Midnight LuxeFeels sold: Medium Feel only
6
1 Softest10 Firmest
Medium Feel 6
Sleep Foundation's firmness ratings. Saatva Rx review updated Oct 13, 2025; Helix Midnight Luxe review updated April 3, 2026.
Each sells one feel. The Saatva Rx is the softer of the two, 4 against 6.
Who fits
How did Sleep Foundation score each bed for your sleep position and weight?
Why this matters to you: Sleep Foundation scores each feel separately for lighter, average and heavier sleepers in each position, so a feel that suits one sleeper can score lower for another. These are one outlet's scores, not a promise of how a bed will feel to you.
Each bed here sells one feel, so there's no option to swap. Below is Sleep Foundation's score for that one feel, for each sleep position and body weight, out of 10. We don't test beds ourselves.
Fit finder
See each bed's score for your choices
Sleep Foundation scores
1. How you sleep
2. Your weight
Saatva Rx
Helix Midnight Luxe
Share the bed or switch positions? Check each combination. We don't average scores across sleepers.
Each bed's single feel, scored out of 10. Bold marks the higher score, or both when they tie. Sleep Foundation's Saatva Rx review updated Oct 13, 2025; its Helix Midnight Luxe scores come from the Helix Luxe collection review, updated Apr 3, 2026.
Your weight
Side
Back
Stomach
Under 130 lbs
Saatva9Helix9.5
Saatva7.5Helix8.5
Saatva7.5Helix8.5
130 to 230 lbs
Saatva7.5Helix10
Saatva7Helix8
Saatva7Helix7.5
Over 230 lbs
Saatva6.5Helix9.5
Saatva6.5Helix7
Saatva6.5Helix6.5
Sleep Foundation named the Helix Midnight Luxe its best mattress overall for 2026 and scored it higher almost everywhere here. The Rx isn't sold on feel scores alone; Saatva markets it for the pressure relief it gives sleepers with back and joint pain.
Tester results
What do review sites say about feel, cooling, partner movement and edge support?
Why this matters to you: Review sites score the same bed differently. Each uses its own scale and tests, so we show every score as it was published and never add them up into one winner.
We don't test mattresses. These are three outlets' published scores, each on its own scale, never averaged. The higher score in each pair is marked; a tie is not. Sleep Foundation reviews the whole Helix Luxe line at once, so it gives no separate overall or category score for the Midnight Luxe.
Scores as each outlet publishes them: Sleep Foundation · Mattress Clarity · NapLab. Mattress Clarity and NapLab reviewed each bed by name; no outlet has published a Saatva Rx vs. Helix Midnight Luxe comparison.
What they measured
Sleep Foundationout of 10 · Saatva Rx updated Oct 13, 2025 · no separate Helix Midnight Luxe score
Mattress Clarityout of 5 · Sep 17, 2026
NapLabout of 10 · May-Sep 2026
Overall score
Saatva 8.5Helix Not scored
Saatva 4.4Helix 4.5
Saatva 9.10Helix 9.43
Helix scores a bit higher, where both are scored. Sleep Foundation has no separate Helix Midnight Luxe number to compare.
Motion isolation
Saatva 8Helix Not scored
Saatva 4.7Helix 4
Saatva 7.4Helix 9.7
The testers disagree. Mattress Clarity favors Saatva; NapLab favors Helix.
Edge support
Saatva 7Helix Not scored
Saatva 3.4Helix 4.8
Saatva 9.2Helix 10
Helix, at Mattress Clarity and NapLab.
Cooling
Saatva 8Helix Not scored
Saatva 4Helix 4.5
Saatva 9Helix 10
Helix, at Mattress Clarity and NapLab.
Pressure relief
Saatva 8Helix Not scored
Saatva 4.5Helix 4.17
Saatva 10Helix 10
Close. Mattress Clarity scores Saatva a touch higher; NapLab ties them at a perfect 10. This is the category Saatva builds the Rx around.
Ease of moving
Saatva 7Helix Not scored
Saatva 4Helix 4
Saatva 9.8Helix 8.4
The Saatva, per NapLab. Mattress Clarity ties them.
Off-gassing smell
Not scored
Not scored
Saatva 10Helix 8.1
Not scored by Sleep Foundation or Mattress Clarity.
The Saatva, per NapLab. It scored a perfect 10; the Helix scored 8.1, still a strong result.
The beds
How is each bed built, and who is it for?
Foam-and-coil hybrid
Saatva Rx
Saatva Rx
Saatva says it designed the Rx for sleepers with chronic back and joint conditions. A graphite-and-cooling foam layer sits over an 8 in coil unit. It comes in one feel and one height.
Fire barrier: plant-based thistle and organic wool, per Saatva
Saatva Rx, Queen, 15 in height, as Saatva lists it. Sold in one feel, Supportive Plush. Layer order only, not to scale.
A crew brings it to your room and sets it up for free. You get 365 nights to try it, and a return costs $99. Sleep Foundation scores it 6.5 to 9 for side sleepers and gives it 8/10 for pressure relief, the reason Saatva markets it for back and joint pain.
Who may like this bed?
You have chronic back or joint pain and want the bed Saatva designed for those sleepers.
You want it carried in and set up for you.
You want a full year to make up your mind.
Who may prefer another bed?
You want a free return; Helix has one after night 30.
You want the lower price; the Midnight Luxe costs about $1,340 less for a Queen.
The Midnight Luxe puts gel memory foam and dense memory foam over up to 1,000 individually wrapped coils, with extra support under the hips and around the edge. Helix sells it in a single Medium Feel; Sleep Foundation rates that feel 6 out of 10 for firmness.
Fire barrier: a rayon fire barrier, per Helix
Helix Midnight Luxe, Queen, TENCEL cover with the standard Luxe Layer, as Helix lists it. Helix says up to 1,000 coils, not an exact count. Layer order only, not to scale.
It ships free in a box by FedEx, and you set it up unless you pay Helix's In-Home Setup & Removal fee (from $219). You get 120 nights, but you'll need to sleep on it for 30 nights before you can send it back. The return itself is free. Sleep Foundation named the Midnight Luxe its best mattress overall for 2026 and scored it 9.5 to 10 for side sleepers in every weight group.
Who may like this bed?
You want a much lower price.
You're a side sleeper; Sleep Foundation scored it highest there.
You want a free return once you're past night 30.
Who may prefer another bed?
You have chronic back or joint pain, the group Saatva designed the Rx for.
You'd rather not carry and unbox a 115 lb bed.
You need a split king; Helix doesn't sell one as a single mattress.
What do the brands say about fire barriers, fiberglass and certifications?
Why this matters to you: Every mattress sold in the U.S. must pass a federal open-flame test. Some brands pass it with a barrier made with glass fiber, which can get out if the cover is removed. Know what's inside before it's in your bedroom.
Both brands name a fire barrier and say in writing that it isn't fiberglass. Saatva blends plant-based thistle with organic wool; Helix uses a rayon barrier built into a foam layer.
Saatva Rx
Fire barrier: thistle and wool
Saatva Rx
Saatva lists the Rx barrier as a "blend of natural plant-based thistle and 100% GOTS-certified organic New Zealand wool."
No fiberglass, brand says
Every Saatva mattress
Saatva's FAQ: "We do not use fiberglass in our products."
CertiPUR-US foams
The foam layers only
An outside group checked that the foams are made without certain harmful chemicals and are low in emissions. It doesn't cover the coils, cover or barrier.
Helix Midnight Luxe
Fire barrier: rayon, in a foam layer
Helix Midnight Luxe
Helix says every mattress uses "a fire retardant yarn made from a chemical-free Rayon barrier that is in the form of a small foam layer."
No fiberglass, brand says
Every Helix mattress
Helix support center: "No, every Helix mattress is made without the use of fiberglass."
CertiPUR-US foams
All foam in the bed
Helix says every mattress is CertiPUR-US certified.
Check the law tag when it arrives. It lists what the bed is made of. If it doesn't settle the fiberglass question, ask the brand in writing. Never remove a cover that says not to. Why fiberglass in mattresses matters →
Living with it
How do delivery, setup and care compare?
Why this matters to you: A 115 lb box on a stair landing is a different evening from a crew that sets up the bed. These details decide the first night.
Weights, sizes and care rules from each brand's own pages. Delivery terms here are for the contiguous U.S.; check with the brand for Alaska, Hawaii and other areas.
Delivery, setup and care for Saatva Rx and Helix Midnight Luxe
Detail
Saatva Rx
Helix Midnight Luxe
Sizes
Twin to Cal King, plus Split King
Twin to Cal King, plus Short Queen and RV King; no Split King
Queen weight
124 lbs
115 lbs
How it arrives
Flat, carried in by a delivery crew
Boxed, shipped by FedEx, or delivered and set up by Ryder for a fee
How long it takes
9 to 21 days; built after you order
FedEx: production 3 to 5 days, then transit 2 to 5 days; Ryder setup usually scheduled 7 to 15 business days out
Adjustable base
Yes; Split King pairs only with Saatva's Split King base
Yes; Helix sells its own Adjustable Base and Foundation as add-ons
Upkeep
Vacuum at least twice a year; deodorize with baking soda if needed
Spot-clean the cover only; don't remove it; use a mattress protector
Try it in a store
Saatva viewing rooms
Select partner showrooms; display models vary by location
The trade-off: Saatva's crew carries the bed in and hauls the old one away for free. Helix ships free by FedEx, but in-home setup and removal costs from $219, and that fee isn't refunded if you later return the bed.
Fine print
Terms checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
What are the trial, return and exchange rules?
Why this matters to you: "Free returns" and "lifetime warranty" both come with rules. Know what a return costs you before the bed arrives.
Here's what each brand's own policy pages say, in plain words.
Saatva Rx: your trial, night by night
Day 1The bed arrives
Any nightNo wait before a return
Night 365The last night to ask
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to pay
Return it$99Taken from your refund
Swap it$99Saatva delivers the new bed
Not covered by the trial: Saatva adjustable bases, which aren't eligible for a return or exchange
Saatva Rx: one long trial, one fee.
Helix Midnight Luxe: your trial, night by night
Day 1The box arrives
Night 30The first night you can return
Night 120The last night to ask
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to pay
Return it$0Paid setup fees aren't refunded
Swap it$0No 30-night wait for the exchange
Limit: up to 2 mattress returns per customer or household
Helix Midnight Luxe: a shorter trial with a free return.
Warranty
Terms checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
What does each warranty cover, and what voids it?
Why this matters to you: A warranty covers defects, not comfort. Your bed base, stains and how deep a sag is all decide whether a claim is paid.
From saatva.com/warranty and the Helix mattress warranty page, checked Sep 27, 2026.
Rule
Saatva Rx
Helix Midnight Luxe
Sag that counts
Deeper than 1.5 in
Deeper than 1.5 in
Early years
Free replacement, years 1 and 2
Free repair or replacement, years 1 through 10
Later years
$149 fee to repair and re-cover it, year 3 on
Prorated fee of 50% (years 11-15), 60% (16-20), or 75% (21+)
Your bed base
Slats less than 4 in apart; center support on a Queen or larger
Solid base or slats no more than 5.5 in apart
Stains
Void. Any stain can end coverage
Not covered. Physical damage and stains are excluded
If you sell it
Ends. Original buyer only
Ends. Valid only while the original buyer owns it
Shipping for a claim
Not stated on the warranty page
Not stated on the warranty page
The trade-off: Helix repairs or replaces the bed at no cost for a full 10 years, then charges a rising percentage of the current price. Saatva's free window is shorter, years 1 and 2, but its year-3-on fee is a flat $149 rather than a percentage.
Both brands cover a dip deeper than 1.5 in, so measure it the same way for either bed.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
How to measure a sag before you file a claim with either brand. Drawing not to scale.
Owner reviews
Review counts change daily
What do owner and company ratings show?
Why this matters to you: Each site draws a different mix of reviewers. Brand sites rate the mattress; Trustpilot and the BBB rate the company.
Ratings as each site showed them, all checked Sep 27, 2026.
Mattress ratings on each brand's page, and company ratings on Trustpilot and the BBB, for Saatva Rx and Helix Midnight Luxe
Site
Saatva Rx
Helix Midnight Luxe
The brand's own site
4.8 from 560 reviews (Rx page)
4.5 from 9,638 reviews (Midnight Luxe page)
These ratings appear on the brand's own product page.
Trustpilot
3.4 from 1,378 reviews; profile claimed
4.3 from 242 reviews; profile claimed
Both profiles are claimed, meaning each brand can respond to reviews there.
Better Business Bureau
A+ rating; accredited since 2011
A+ rating; accredited since April 2020
A BBB rating is the BBB's view of how a business is likely to deal with customers, based on its complaint record and other business details (how the BBB rates). It doesn't rate how the bed sleeps.
What the BBB profiles show: Helix's profile lists 54 complaints closed in the last three years. We draw no conclusion from the count alone.
Quick Answers
Quick answers before you buy
Which is cheaper, the Saatva Rx or the Helix Midnight Luxe?
The Helix Midnight Luxe, by about $1,340 for a Queen ($1,874 against $3,214, checked Sep 27, 2026), and it costs less at every other size too.
Why does the Saatva Rx cost so much more?
Saatva markets it as a therapeutic bed for people with chronic back or joint pain. It has a graphite-and-cooling foam layer and a gel memory foam lumbar crown. Sleep Foundation gives it 8 out of 10 for pressure relief.
Which is cheaper to return?
The Helix Midnight Luxe, once you're past night 30. Helix's return is free after that, though a paid setup fee isn't refunded. Saatva takes $99 from your refund but lets you return it any night of the 365.
Does either mattress contain fiberglass?
No, both brands say in writing. Saatva uses a thistle-and-wool barrier on the Rx; Helix uses a rayon barrier built into a foam layer. Check the law tag on either bed.
Which is better for side sleepers?
The Helix Midnight Luxe. Sleep Foundation scored it 9.5 to 10 for side sleepers in every weight group, and named it best mattress overall for 2026.
Does either one arrive in a box?
Only the Helix Midnight Luxe. It ships free by FedEx, and a Queen weighs 115 lbs. A Saatva crew carries the Rx into your room and sets it up for free.
Can I use an adjustable base with either?
Yes, with both. A Saatva Rx in Split King pairs only with Saatva's own Split King adjustable base. Helix sells its own Adjustable Base as an add-on.
Can I choose a different feel?
No, not with either bed. The Saatva Rx sells one feel, Supportive Plush. The Helix Midnight Luxe sells one feel too, Medium.
Brand facts come from each brand's own pages. Scores come from the outlets named. The date shows when we last checked, or when the outlet last updated.
: Rechecked Helix's page. Corrected the Midnight Luxe layers and coil count, and removed a GREENGUARD Gold claim Helix's page doesn't make.
: first published, with prices by size, a cost calculator, fit by position and weight, and tester results. Fire barriers, warranty, delivery, care and owner ratings come from each brand's own pages.
See a fact that's out of date? Tell us and we'll recheck it.
Find your match
Not sure which bed fits you?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep. We'll show you the beds that fit.