Disclosure: Saatva is a Nappedia partner. We earn a commission if you buy Saatva through our links. Amerisleep doesn't pay us. That does not change what we write.
Both are medium-firm hybrids with steel coils, and Mattress Clarity and NapLab score the Saatva a little higher. The main practical differences are price, delivery, and what it costs to change your mind.
Pick the Saatva Classic if you want it carried in and set up, three feels and two heights to pick from, or a Split King in one order. A Queen is $1,904, and a return costs $99.
Pick the Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid if you want to pay less ($1,449 for a Queen, $455 less) or a free return. You'll unbox the mattress yourself, and it comes in one feel only.
What will each bed cost, including setup and a return?
Why this matters to you: The price tag is only part of it. Saatva includes delivery and setup in every price; Amerisleep ships the AS3 Hybrid to your curb. Carrying it in and setting it up costs extra, at a price Amerisleep doesn't publish.
Sale prices for the Luxury Firm feel (Saatva, 11.5 in) and the AS3 Hybrid's only feel, checked Sep 27, 2026. Amerisleep costs $455 less for a Queen.
Cost calculator
What will you pay to keep, return or exchange it?
Brand prices, Sep 27, 2026
Saatva Classic
Pay up front
If you return it
If you swap feels
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid
Pay up front
If you return it
If you swap feels
Sale prices. Saatva: 11.5 in; the 14.5 in costs $20 more. Amerisleep: Medium feel only; list prices are crossed out on the product page. The calculator shows sizes every bed here comes in. Saatva also sells an 11.5 in Split Cal King, at $2,793.
Size
Saatva Classic
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid
Twin
$1,224
$1,199
Twin XL
$1,359
$1,249
Full
$1,704
$1,399
Queen
$1,904
$1,449
King
$2,404
$1,649
Cal King
$2,404
$1,649
Split King
$2,793
$2,548
Both brands show these as sale prices against higher list prices (Saatva Queen list $2,229; Amerisleep Queen list $1,949). Prices change often, so recheck both before you buy.
Firmness
Feels checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
What firmness options can you choose?
Why this matters to you: Brands name their feels their own way, so one brand's Medium can be another's Luxury Firm. Sleep Foundation rates the feels it has reviewed on one 10-point scale.
The firmness choices for the beds compared here, on Sleep Foundation's 10-point firmness scale, where 1 is softest and 10 is firmest. Feel names are each brand's own; the note below flags any that differ or weren't rated. We don't test beds ourselves.
Sleep Foundation's firmness ratings. Saatva review updated Oct 14, 2025.
Sleep Foundation hasn't reviewed the AS3 Hybrid. On Mattress Clarity's own scale, it rates 6.5 against the Saatva Luxury Firm's 7.5.
Tester results
What do review sites say about feel, cooling, partner movement and edge support?
Why this matters to you: Review sites score the same bed differently. Each uses its own scale and tests, so we show every score as it was published and never add them up into one winner.
We don't test mattresses. These are three outlets' published scores, each on its own scale, never averaged. Sleep Foundation hasn't reviewed the AS3 Hybrid, only the all-foam AS3, so we leave it out here rather than use the wrong model's numbers.
Scores as each outlet publishes them: Sleep Foundation · Mattress Clarity · NapLab. Mattress Clarity and NapLab both reviewed the AS3 Hybrid as its own model, and Saatva's Luxury Firm.
What they measured
Sleep Foundationout of 10 · Saatva Classic reviewed Oct 14, 2025
The Saatva scores a little higher at Mattress Clarity and NapLab. Sleep Foundation didn't score the AS3 Hybrid.
Motion isolation
Saatva 6.5AS3 Hybrid Not scored
Saatva 2.67AS3 Hybrid 4
Saatva 7.4AS3 Hybrid 10
The AS3 Hybrid, at Mattress Clarity and NapLab. If a partner's moves wake you, lean Amerisleep.
Edge support
Saatva 8.5AS3 Hybrid Not scored
Saatva 5AS3 Hybrid 4
Saatva 10AS3 Hybrid 9.6
The Saatva, at Mattress Clarity and NapLab. Mattress Clarity calls its edge support "top-notch."
Cooling
Saatva 10AS3 Hybrid Not scored
Saatva 4AS3 Hybrid 4
Saatva 10AS3 Hybrid 9
Mattress Clarity calls it a tie; NapLab favors the Saatva slightly.
Pressure relief
Saatva 8AS3 Hybrid Not scored
Saatva 4.5AS3 Hybrid Not scored
Saatva 10AS3 Hybrid 10
NapLab calls it a tie. Mattress Clarity doesn't score this for the AS3 Hybrid under a matching label, so it isn't shown for that bed.
Ease of moving
Saatva 8.5AS3 Hybrid Not scored
Saatva 5AS3 Hybrid Not scored
Saatva 9.9AS3 Hybrid 8.5
NapLab found the Saatva springs back faster, so turning over takes less effort. Expect more bounce with a partner moving next to you.
Smell on arrival
Not scored
Not scored
Saatva 10AS3 Hybrid 7.8
Not scored by Sleep Foundation or Mattress Clarity.
NapLab found more off-gassing smell from the AS3 Hybrid. It ships compressed in a box; the Saatva arrives flat.
Feel of the firmer option tested
Not scored
Saatva 7.5AS3 Hybrid 6.5
Not scored
Not scored by Sleep Foundation or NapLab.
Mattress Clarity found the Saatva's Luxury Firm a bit firmer than the AS3 Hybrid's Medium feel.
The beds
How is each bed built, and who is it for?
Coil-on-coil innerspring
Saatva Classic
Saatva Classic
The Classic is Saatva's coil-on-coil bed with a 3 in Euro pillow top. Two layers of steel coils sit under the pillow top. It comes in three feels and two heights.
Fire barrier: plant-based thistle, per Saatva
Saatva Classic, Queen, 11.5 in height, as Saatva lists it. Coil counts are the same at every feel. Layer order only, not to scale.
A crew brings it to your room and sets it up for free. You get 365 nights to try it, and a return costs $99. Sleep Foundation scores its Luxury Firm feel 8.5 to 9 out of 10 in every position for sleepers from 130 to 230 lbs.
Who may like this bed?
You want it carried in and set up for you.
You want a choice of feel and height: Plush Soft, Luxury Firm or Firm, at 11.5 in or 14.5 in.
You want a Split King in one order for an adjustable base (11.5 in height only).
Who may prefer another bed?
You want a lower price; the AS3 Hybrid costs $455 less for a Queen.
You want a free return; the AS3 Hybrid has one.
You want the bed shipped to your door in a box you unpack yourself.
The AS3 Hybrid pairs Bio-Pur plant-based memory foam and a five-zone HIVE support layer over pocketed coils. It comes in one feel, Medium, and one height, 12 in.
Fire barrier: the page calls it fiberglass-free but doesn't name the specific fire-barrier material
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid, as Amerisleep lists it. Coil count not published. Layer order only, not to scale.
It ships to your door by FedEx, free. You get 100 nights, and you'll need to keep it 30 nights before Amerisleep will refund you. The return itself is free, with no fee stated. Sleep Foundation hasn't reviewed this hybrid version; Mattress Clarity rates its firmness 6.5 out of 10.
Who may like this bed?
You want a lower price; a Queen is $455 less than the Saatva Classic.
You want a free return once you've kept it 30 nights.
You like the feel of foam over coils; Amerisleep says the AS3 is endorsed by the American Chiropractic Association.
Who may prefer another bed?
You want it carried in and set up for you; the AS3 Hybrid ships in a box.
You want a choice of feel; this model comes in Medium only.
You want a full year to decide; Amerisleep gives you 100 nights.
What do the brands say about fire barriers, fiberglass and certifications?
Why this matters to you: Every mattress sold in the U.S. must pass a federal open-flame test. Some brands pass it with a barrier made with glass fiber, which can get out if the cover is removed. Know what's inside before it's in your bedroom.
Both brands say their mattress doesn't contain fiberglass. Saatva names its fire barrier material; Amerisleep's page doesn't name what replaces fiberglass, just that it's absent.
Saatva Classic
Fire barrier: plant-based thistle
Saatva Classic
Saatva says it's "made of wood pulp bonded with a small amount of polyester."
No fiberglass, brand says
Every Saatva mattress
Saatva's FAQ: "We never use fiberglass or toxic chemical flame retardants/barriers in any of our mattresses."
CertiPUR-US foams and GREENGUARD Gold
The foam layers and cover
The product page lists both certifications. It also says the AS3 is endorsed by the American Chiropractic Association.
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid
Fire barrier: fiberglass-free, material not named
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid
The product page tags the mattress "Hybrid/Fiberglass Free" but doesn't name the fabric used instead.
No fiberglass, brand says
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid
Amerisleep's copy: "Fiberglass-free mattress is eco-friendly and non-toxic."
American Chiropractic Association endorsed
The AS3, per Amerisleep
Amerisleep's page says the AS3 is "endorsed by the American Chiropractic Association." It doesn't separate the Hybrid version out.
Check the law tag when it arrives. It lists what the bed is made of. If it doesn't settle the fiberglass question, ask the brand in writing. Never remove a cover that says not to. Why fiberglass in mattresses matters →
Living with it
How do delivery and setup compare?
Why this matters to you: A curbside box is a different evening from a crew that sets up the bed in your room. These details decide the first night.
Weights, sizes and delivery rules from each brand's own pages. Delivery terms here are for the contiguous U.S.; check with the brand for Alaska, Hawaii and other areas.
Delivery, setup for Saatva Classic and Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid
Detail
Saatva Classic
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid
Sizes
Twin to Cal King, plus Split King and Split Cal King
Twin to Cal King, plus Split King
Queen weight
91 lbs (11.5 in); 102 lbs (14.5 in)
96 lbs
How it arrives
Flat, carried in by a delivery crew
Boxed, curbside by FedEx
How long it takes
9 to 21 days; built after you order
Ships in 1 to 10 business days, then 1 to 5 days in transit
Adjustable base
Yes, 11.5 in height only
Yes; Amerisleep sells its own adjustable bases
Try it in a store
Saatva viewing rooms
BBB lists Amerisleep addresses in Scottsdale, Fort Worth, Austin, Tucson, Denver and Houston
Where a tester found an edge: NapLab found less off-gassing smell from the Saatva on arrival; the AS3 Hybrid ships compressed in a box.
Fine print
Terms checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
What are the trial, return and exchange rules?
Why this matters to you: "Free returns" and "lifetime warranty" both come with rules. Know what a return costs you before the bed arrives.
Here's what each brand's own policy pages say, in plain words.
Saatva Classic: your trial, night by night
Day 1The bed arrives
Any nightNo wait before a return
Night 365The last night to ask
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to pay
Return it$99Taken from your refund
Swap it$99Saatva builds the new feel or height
Not covered by the trial: adjustable bases, even in a bundle
Saatva Classic: one long trial, one fee.
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid: your trial, night by night
Day 1The bed arrives
Night 30The first night you can return
Night 100The last night to ask
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to pay
Return it$0No fee stated
Swap it$0No separate exchange; return for a refund, then order again
Not stated: no household or per-customer limit stated on the pages checked
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid: a shorter trial with a free return.
Warranty
Terms checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
What does each warranty cover, and what voids it?
Why this matters to you: A warranty covers defects, not comfort. Your bed base, stains and how deep a sag is all decide whether a claim is paid.
From saatva.com/warranty and amerisleep.com's warranty page, checked Sep 27, 2026.
Rule
Saatva Classic
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid
Sag that counts
Deeper than 1.5 in
Deeper than 1.5 in
Full replacement
Years 1 and 2
Years 1 through 10
After that
$149 fee to repair and re-cover it, no stated limit
Prorated: you pay 50% of the original price, plus shipping and labor, years 11 through 20
Your bed base
Slats less than 4 in apart; center support on a Queen or larger
Solid or slatted foundation; slats no more than 2.75 in apart if not sold by Amerisleep
Stains
Void. Any stain can end coverage
Void. Stains and discoloration end coverage
If you sell it
Ends. Original buyer only
Ends. Original buyer only
Shipping for a claim
Not stated on the warranty page
You pay shipping and labor on any claim, in years 1 to 10 too
The trade-off: Saatva charges a flat $149 fee for each repair from year 3 on, with no stated end date. Amerisleep replaces the mattress for 10 years, though you pay shipping and labor, then charges 50% of the original price, plus shipping and labor, for the next 10.
Both brands cover a dip deeper than 1.5 in, so measure it the same way for either bed.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
How to measure a sag before you file a claim with either brand. Drawing not to scale.
Owner reviews
Review counts change daily
What do owner and company ratings show?
Why this matters to you: Each site draws a different mix of reviewers. Brand sites rate the mattress; Trustpilot and the BBB rate the company.
Ratings as each site showed them. Trustpilot and BBB profiles checked Sep 27, 2026; Saatva's own reviews Sep 27, 2026.
Mattress ratings on each brand's page, and company ratings on Trustpilot and the BBB, for Saatva Classic and Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid
Site
Saatva Classic
Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid
The brand's own site
4.8 from 6,379 reviews (Classic page)
4.74 from 8,310 reviews (AS3 widget); the same page's other widget shows 4.5 from 3,073
These ratings appear on the brand's own product page.
Trustpilot
3.4 from 1,378 reviews; profile claimed
3.2 from 19 reviews; profile claimed
Amerisleep has only 19 Trustpilot reviews, so one or two reviews can move that score.
Better Business Bureau
A+ rating; accredited since 2011
A+ rating; accredited
A BBB rating is the BBB's view of how a business is likely to deal with customers, based on its complaint record and other business details (how the BBB rates). It doesn't rate how the bed sleeps.
What owners report: we haven't read enough owner reviews of either model to name a pattern, so we don't.
Quick Answers
Quick answers before you buy
Which is cheaper, the Saatva Classic or the Amerisleep AS3 Hybrid?
The AS3 Hybrid, by $455 for a Queen ($1,449 against $1,904, checked Sep 27, 2026). Saatva includes setup and old-bed removal; Amerisleep ships to your curb.
Which is cheaper to return?
The AS3 Hybrid. Amerisleep refunds you in full once you've kept it 30 nights, with no fee stated. Saatva takes $99 from your refund, but you can return it any night of its 365-night trial.
Does either one arrive in a box?
Only the AS3 Hybrid. It ships curbside by FedEx. A Saatva crew carries the Classic into your room and sets it up for free.
Does either mattress contain fiberglass?
Neither, both brands say. Saatva names its plant-based thistle barrier in writing. Amerisleep's page says the AS3 Hybrid is fiberglass-free but doesn't name the material used instead.
Which bed lets you feel a partner move less?
The AS3 Hybrid, at Mattress Clarity and NapLab. Both score it higher for motion isolation than the Saatva's Luxury Firm.
Which is firmer?
The Saatva Classic's Luxury Firm. Mattress Clarity rates it 7.5 out of 10 against the AS3 Hybrid's 6.5, on its own firmness scale.
Can I swap for a different feel or size?
Only formally with Saatva. Saatva charges $99 for an exchange. Amerisleep has no separate exchange program; you return the mattress for a refund and place a new order.
Can I use an adjustable base?
Yes, with limits on Saatva. Saatva's warranty allows it for the 11.5 in Classic only. Amerisleep says the AS3 Hybrid works with an adjustable base, including its own.
Brand facts come from each brand's own pages. Scores come from the outlets named. The date shows when we last checked, or when the outlet last updated.
: Reworded the American Chiropractic Association endorsement to match Amerisleep's page, which names the AS3 and doesn't single out the Hybrid.
: Rechecked Amerisleep's pages. Corrected the warranty shipping and labor rule, which applies in the first 10 years too.
: Rebuilt this comparison with prices by size, a cost calculator and tester scores. Fire barriers, returns and warranty rules were rechecked on each brand's own pages. No fit-by-sleep-position section: the AS3 Hybrid has no Sleep Foundation review.
See a fact that's out of date? Tell us and we'll recheck it.
Find your match
Not sure which bed fits you?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep. We'll show you the beds that fit.