SleepOvation Mattress Review

SleepOvation built one adult mattress and one pillow around a single patented idea, the Cushion Pocket Spring. It's roughly 700 foam-topped mini coils that move on their own. The bed was chiropractor-endorsed, US-made, medium-firm and had a washable cover. But the brand is gone. It rebranded to Kiwi Sleep in 2024, then vanished. Its old site now redirects to a rival, DLX Mattress, so you can't get a trial, warranty or support. This page covers what it was.

Checked September 2026 against the brand's own pages and public listings. We haven't sleep-tested these mattresses, so treat this as a buyer's summary of what the brand publishes.

Is SleepOvation the best mattress for you?

Good fit if you want

  • Back and side sleepers with back, hip or shoulder pain
  • Hot sleepers and allergy sufferers
  • Couples who want easy movement and strong edges
  • Shoppers who wanted a US-made bed
  • Buyers who liked a bouncy, non-foam-slab feel

Look elsewhere if you need

  • Stomach sleepers who need a firmer surface
  • Sleepers over 300 lb
  • Budget shoppers
  • Side sleepers who want a plush memory-foam hug
  • Anyone buying today, since the brand is out of business

Compare the SleepOvation mattresses

ModelFeelHeightPrice
SleepOvation 700 Tiny Mattresses in OneAbout 700 foam-topped pocketed coils over an 8 in coil core, in Twin, Twin XL, Full, Queen, King, Cal King and Split King.Medium Plush by the brand; 6.5/10 medium firm by Mattress Clarity12 inQueen $1,920 to $3,200 (Kiwi Sleep 2025 Queen price $1,920)
SleepOvation 700 Tiny Mattresses in One for Hip PainA 2022 landing page for the same mattress, with identical specs, sizes and pricing.Same as the main mattress12 inSame as the main mattress
SleepOvation 700 Tiny Mattresses in One for 50+A 2022 landing page for the same mattress, aimed at shoppers over 50. A King-only page also existed.Same as the main mattress12 inSame as the main mattress
SleepOvation 77 tiny pillows in One154 foam cushions and 45 pocketed micro-coils form 77 tiny pillows, with a removable washable cover.Not statedNot stated$115 (later $75 as Kiwi Sleep)
SleepOvation 2-Stage Infant MattressA crib mattress in Standard (51.75 x 27.75 x 5.5 in, 13 lb) and Mini (37.75 x 23.75 x 5.5 in, 10 lb).65 ILD very stiff infant side, 35 ILD medium-firm toddler side5.5 inStandard $499, Mini $399 (2022)
SleepOvation Baby Additional Mattress CoverA spare zip-off cover sold as an accessory.Not statedNot statedNot published

Which mattress suits your sleep needs?

Back sleepers were the headline use. The design aims to support all 33 segments of the spine, and Mattress Clarity found ample lower-back support for average-weight back sleepers. Side sleepers were the second strong fit, because each cushion cradles the shoulder and hip.

Stomach sleepers were the weak spot. You won't get enough support if you're average or heavier, said Mattress Clarity, though lightweight ones should be fine. Hot sleepers had air channels in the foam and cover, but a 3-star buyer still said the foam layer ran hot and flattened.

Couples got great edge support, silent coils and decent motion isolation. Sleepers of 230 to 300 lb should be comfortable, but those above 300 lb should look elsewhere, and the brand capped support at 350 lb. It worked on adjustable bases, solid platforms and a board over a box spring. An improper foundation voids the warranty. You'd also have found split opinions on firmness. The brand said it feels plush when you sit and firmer when you lie down. In verified reviews the most common complaint was too hard, and the second was too soft.

Mattress prices and value

SleepOvation sold one mattress at a premium price that climbed for eight years. In 2017 the Kickstarter early-bird price was Twin from $500 and Cal King $900. In April 2019 you'd pay Twin $1,349, Twin XL $1,449, Full $1,549, Queen $1,749, King $1,949 and Cal King $1,949. In May 2022 it was Twin $1,849, Twin XL $1,999, Full $2,149, Queen $2,349, King $2,549 and Cal King $2,549.

January 2024 list prices were Twin $1,624, Twin XL $1,949, Full $2,249, Queen $2,649, King $3,099, Cal King $3,099 and Split King $3,399. A holiday sale took 33 percent off, with Twin at $1,088 and a $536 saving. The 2025 Kiwi Sleep reset was lower: Twin $1,199 (compare-at $1,999), Twin XL $1,380 ($2,300), Full $1,617 ($2,695), Queen $1,920 ($3,200), King $2,250 ($3,750), Cal King $2,250 ($3,750) and Split King $2,520 ($4,200). Kiwi Sleep Mattress Kids started at $1,199 for Twin, Twin XL and Full.

The pillow was $115, then $75 as Kiwi Sleep. Crib mattresses were Standard $499 and Mini $399 in 2022, then Standard $299 and Mini $224. Cover bundles were $289 to $389, and spare covers $75 to $100. Mattress Clarity summed it up in 2022 as about $1,600 for a Twin and $2,200 for a Cal King. At a Queen price of $1,920 to $3,200 it sat above most online hybrids such as Purple, Nectar, DreamCloud and Saatva. Discounts of 20 to 40 percent were common. Klarna financing was 0 percent APR over 6 or 12 months, 9.99 percent APR over 18 months, and 19.99 percent standard APR. Checkout took Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Amex, Amazon Pay, PayPal and Google Pay. It's no value today, because there isn't anyone left to honor the price you paid.

What are the mattresses made of?

The build is one patented system, not a layer stack. The roughly 700 Cushion Pocket Springs are an average, as noted on every page. Coil counts by size are Cal King 896, King 870, Queen 690, Full 588, Twin XL 450 and Twin 420. Each is a 2.25 x 2.25 x 3 in cylinder of high-density hybrid foam bonded to its own pocketed coil. Weights are Twin 56 lb, Twin XL 60 lb, Full 77 lb, Queen 90 lb, King 113 lb and Cal King 116 lb. The support core is 8 in of 0.078 in high-carbon steel pocketed coils. The cover is stretch knit polyester and elastane, with a zipper so it's machine washable. Mattress Clarity measured the bed at 12 in tall.

An FR fire cap is quilted inside as an internal mattress pad, so you lie directly on the cushions. Air channels run through the cushions and the cover. It was CertiPUR-US Gold and GREENGUARD Gold certified. It was made 100 percent in the USA with 100 percent USA-sourced parts. Assembly was at 105 West Dewey Ave, Bldg C, Unit 9, Wharton, NJ 07885.

The pillow has 154 cushions and 45 micro-coils in 16-gauge steel pockets, with a polyamide cover said to sleep up to 5 F cooler. The crib mattress uses 1.125 x 1.125 x 2.25 in cushions of 65 ILD and 35 ILD foam. They're bonded to a 0.030 in micro-coil. That's about 1,000 units in a Standard and 600 in a Mini. It has an OEKO-TEX Standard 100 cover, CertiPUR-US foam and ASTM F2933-19 construction, with no chemical flame retardants or fiberglass. The brand doesn't publish adult foam densities, adult ILD values or a full layer breakdown (checked September 2026).

How well do the mattresses hold up?

Durability is the weakest part of the story. Pocketed coils usually last longer than foam slabs, and Mattress Clarity said it should last at least 10 years, about three years longer than many rivals. The brand said it stays supportive up to 350 lb.

Verified buyers disagree. A 1-star review from March 2023 said the padding separated within two years and left large divots, and that the company refused the warranty. A November 2022 buyer expected it to fall apart within a couple of years. A July 2023 3-star review said the foam flattened under body heat.

The warranty only covers an indentation greater than 1 in. It excludes normal softening. The brand doesn't publish indentation tests, lab durability results or foam density. With the company gone, you have no route to repair or replacement.

Customer reviews and complaints

Ratings were strong on the brand's own review platform, checked September 2026. The 700 Tiny Mattresses in One had 552 reviews averaging 4.66 out of 5 (426 five-star, 84 four-star, 29 three-star, 8 two-star, 5 one-star). The pillow had 189 reviews averaging 4.29 out of 5. The Kiwi Sleep adult page had 745 reviews averaging 4.07 out of 5 (446, 108, 68, 45 and 78 across five to one stars). The Kiwi Sleep infant mini had 153 reviews averaging 4.71 out of 5. Nearly all are verified buyers, but the brand ran incentivized campaigns and giveaways, so the sample isn't neutral.

Too hard was the most common complaint, and too soft was the counter-complaint. One 2-star side sleeper still had hip and shoulder pain past the 30-night trial. Others said their back pain was the same or worse. Delivery was another theme. Buyers in November and December 2022 reported charged cards, orders unshipped more than two weeks late, and unanswered calls and emails. One Full buyer said it was at least 6 inches shorter than a standard full. Positives included relief from back, hip, shoulder and sciatica pain, the washable cover, cool sleeping, edge support, and easy refunds during the return window.

Mattress Clarity scored it 4.1 overall in 2022 and called it a great pick for hot sleepers with back pain. Geek.com (13 July 2017) and Digital Trends (2017) covered the patent and Kickstarter launch positively. A Business Insider review from July 2018 is no longer available. There isn't a Sleepopolis review, and we couldn't find a BBB rating or Trustpilot page (checked September 2026).

Where can you try and buy?

You can't buy it now. The brand sold only online, through its own site. The crib mattress sat on a sister site. It never had a showroom, store locator or named retail partner, so you couldn't test one in person. Amazon Pay was only a payment method. No SleepOvation mattress is listed on Amazon or Wayfair (checked September 2026).

The old site redirects to a DLX Mattress page, and the Kiwi Sleep and baby domains lead to unrelated parked sites. The phone and email contacts (+1 908.360.2200) aren't active, and the brand didn't list them as active anywhere. If you liked the idea, look at a microcoil or individually pocketed comfort-layer hybrid from another brand. It won't be the same construction.

Delivery, setup and removal

The mattress shipped compressed in a box, free within the contiguous US. Shipping to Canada, Alaska and Hawaii cost $180. The 2022 landing pages said 1 to 3 days, while the 2024 page said 1 to 2 weeks. There was no white-glove setup, and the brand doesn't publish old-mattress removal as a purchase option (checked September 2026).

Setup took four steps. You'd unbox it where you'd sleep, set it on a solid foundation, remove the plastic and let it expand. It wasn't a hard job. A solid platform, solid base or a board over a box spring worked. The warranty excludes damage from an improper frame or base.

Sleep trial and returns

The trial ran 100 nights with a 30-night minimum before you could return it. Pickup was free in the contiguous US, and returns from Alaska, Hawaii or Canada cost $180. No refunds came after 100 nights. The policy copy is dated 5/21/20. Remote areas without pickup meant you disposed of it and sent proof. Free pillows had to go back with the mattress.

The mattress had to stay in its country of purchase. The policy was for original buyers, non-transferable, and limited to one mattress or pillow return per household. A receipt was required. Returns started by email. The brand doesn't publish an exchange policy or fee (checked September 2026). The pillow had a separate 100-day guarantee, with you paying return shipping and the refund within 30 days. Today you can't use any of it.

Warranty

The mattress had a 10-year limited warranty, effective 5 October 2017, and the pillow a 1-year warranty, effective 5 November 2019. Both aren't enforceable now. The mattress warranty covered a visible indentation greater than 1 in, flaws that damage the foam and springs, and cover flaws including seams and zipper. It excluded normal softening, abuse, stains, damage from an improper base and sales by unauthorized retailers. It was for the original buyer only, with proof of purchase.

Claims went by email, and the brand paid return shipping. Disputes went to binding arbitration under American Arbitration Association rules. Three arbitrators sat in East Hanover, New Jersey, under New Jersey law. Liability was capped at the purchase price. The warrantor was SleepOvation LLC, 105 West Dewey Ave, Bldg C, Unit 9, Wharton, NJ 07885. The pillow policy listed 50 Williams Parkway, Suite F, East Hanover, NJ 07936. The warranties and trial all ended if the mattress left its country of purchase.

DLX Mattress says it isn't a successor, has no customer files and doesn't service SleepOvation warranties. Even when trading, one verified 1-star buyer said the company refused a claim on a bed under two years old.

SleepOvation vs. other brands

Nothing else used 700 individually pocketed foam-and-coil cushions. Mattress Clarity compared it with Purple and GhostBed 3D Matrix. It picked SleepOvation for lightweight and average-weight people with back pain, Purple for heavier sleepers, and GhostBed 3D Matrix for couples and softer-bed fans. GhostBed scored 6/10 against SleepOvation's 6.5/10. Other microcoil hybrids include WinkBeds, Saatva Latex Hybrid and Brooklyn Bedding Aurora.

Against memory foam beds such as Tempur-Pedic, Nectar, Casper and DreamCloud, it felt bouncy and cool rather than hugging. Against innersprings such as Simmons Beautyrest, Sealy and Stearns and Foster, it cost more but had independent suspension and a washable cover. At a Queen price of $1,920 to $3,200 it cost more than the $1,000 to $1,800 mainstream band. Weaknesses were a single firmness, no budget tier, no showrooms and durability complaints. A shopper who liked the idea should pick an established brand that will still honor its warranty.

How we put this review together

We read the brand's own product, policy and warranty pages, then checked retailer listings and public complaint sites like the Better Business Bureau. We last checked everything here in September 2026. Prices and policies change, so confirm them on the seller's page before you buy. You can read more in our methodology and editorial policy.

Quick answers before you buy

Can I still buy a SleepOvation mattress?

No. As of September 2026 the old site redirects to a DLX Mattress page saying SleepOvation no longer sells mattresses. The baby site and the Kiwi Sleep domain lead to unrelated parked sites. No SleepOvation listing exists on Amazon or Wayfair.

What made it different?

The patented Cushion Pocket Spring. Each of roughly 700 units was a 2.25 x 2.25 x 3 in foam cushion bonded to its own 8 in, 0.078 in steel pocketed coil. Each pair compressed on its own, with air channels and a washable zip-off cover.

What did it cost?

A Queen listed at $1,749 in 2019, $2,349 in 2022 and $2,649 in January 2024. Twin was $1,624 and Split King $3,399 in 2024. The 2017 Kickstarter Twin was about $500. Kiwi Sleep relisted it at $1,199 for Twin and $1,920 for Queen.

Did it help back pain?

It helped many buyers but not all. It averaged 4.66 out of 5 across 552 brand-site reviews, and Mattress Clarity scored it 4.1. But some 1-star and 2-star buyers had the same or worse back pain. The chiropractor endorsement was paid marketing, not a clinical study.

What were the trial and warranty?

A 100-night trial with a 30-night minimum, free pickup in the contiguous US, and a $180 fee for Hawaii, Alaska and Canada returns. It also had a 10-year mattress warranty and a 1-year pillow warranty. Both were for the original buyer and void if the mattress left its country of purchase.

Is my warranty still good?

No. SleepOvation rebranded to Kiwi Sleep in early 2024, then the domains went dormant. DLX Mattress says it isn't a successor, holds no customer files and won't service SleepOvation products. You have no route to repair, replacement or refund.

Is the crib mattress still available?

No. The same patent went into a two-stage crib mattress. It had a 65 ILD infant side and a 35 ILD toddler side, with about 1,000 tiny baby mattresses in a Standard. It met ASTM F2933-19 and had OEKO-TEX Standard 100 fabric and CertiPUR-US foam. It sold at $499 Standard and $399 Mini, then $299 and $224 as Kiwi Sleep. It's no longer sold.

More mattress brands

Browse every brand in the directory →

Find Your Evidence-Backed Match

Need a personalized mattress recommendation?

Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.

Non-toxic fire barriers Under 60 seconds No email required