Sleepy's Mattress Review

Sleepy's is Mattress Firm's budget house brand. It isn't an independent company. The old Sleepy's retail chain was acquired by Mattress Firm and its stores were renamed. Mattress Firm now uses Sleepy's as a house label, sold only through its stores and site. The range covers basic innerspring, memory foam, Euro-top, pillow-top and RV mattresses. The Relax 10.5-inch plush pillow top is the best-described model, with CertiPUR-US foams and a 120-night trial. It's best if you hunt bargains in store. Published specs and independent reviews are weak.

Checked September 2026 against the brand's own pages and public listings. We haven't sleep-tested these mattresses, so treat this as a buyer's summary of what the brand publishes.

Is Sleepy's the best mattress for you?

Good fit if you want

  • Budget shoppers who can test in a Mattress Firm store
  • Guest rooms, kids' rooms and first apartments
  • Side and lightweight back sleepers who want basic pressure relief
  • RV owners who need 8- or 10-inch sizes

Look elsewhere if you need

  • Online-only researchers, since specs are thin and the brand's product pages were unavailable when we checked
  • Strict stomach sleepers eyeing the plush models
  • Sleepers over about 250 lbs eyeing the plush models
  • Shoppers who want a long trial, long warranty or strong cooling story

Compare the Sleepy's mattresses

ModelFeelHeightPrice
Basic Innerspring FirmEntry-level firm innerspring and the lowest-price door into the brand, for back and stomach sleepers who want a hard, low-frill feel. The brand doesn't publish layer specs.FirmNot publishedNot published
Basic Memory Foam FirmEntry memory foam option. GoodBed says the Memory Foam collection isolates motion very well and suits adjustable bases, but sleeps warm with minimal bounce.FirmNot publishedCollection from $799 queen (GoodBed)
Calm 9-inch Medium Euro TopEuro-top that splits firm and plush for combination sleepers. The brand doesn't publish coil count or foam densities.Medium9 inNot published
Relax 10.5-inch Plush Pillow TopInnerspring pillow top with a quilted stretch-knit cover and three comfort foams over a Lura-Flex offset coil unit with foam perimeter. Best for lightweight side sleepers, too soft for most over about 250 lbs.5/10 medium-plush (SleepAdvisor)10.5 inNot published
Rest Firm 2.0Updated firm option for back and stomach sleepers who want maximum support.FirmNot publishedNot published
Rest Medium 2.0Updated middle-firmness option for combination sleepers.MediumNot publishedNot published
RV 8-inchThin travel-trailer and motorhome size for tight bunks and cab-overs.Not stated8 inNot published
RV 10-inchThicker RV option for full-size rigs.Not stated10 inNot published
Sleepy's Classic collectionValue innerspring grouping. GoodBed praises its edge support and low memory feel, and doesn't recommend it for adjustable bases.Not statedNot publishedFrom $249 queen (GoodBed)
Sleepy's Memory Foam collectionGoodBed praises its motion isolation and adjustable-base use, and criticizes heat and low bounce.Deeper contourNot publishedFrom $799 queen (GoodBed)

Which mattress suits your sleep needs?

Side sleepers should start with the Relax 10.5 Plush Pillow Top for shoulder and hip pressure relief. SleepAdvisor scored side sleepers 5/5. Back sleepers can start with the Rest Firm 2.0 or Basic Innerspring Firm for support. Lightweight back sleepers can try the Relax 10.5. Stomach sleepers should start with the Basic Innerspring Firm or Rest Firm 2.0 and skip the plush pillow top. Combination sleepers can start with the Calm 9 Medium Euro Top or Rest Medium 2.0.

We found no dedicated cooling model, so treat the line as neutral to warm and test in store. If you're over about 250 lbs, SleepAdvisor flags the plush models as too soft, so test firm models in store. Couples get the best motion isolation from memory foam models, per GoodBed. RV owners can choose the RV 8-inch for tight bunks or the RV 10-inch for full-size rigs.

Mattress prices and value

GoodBed lists from-prices of $249 queen for Sleepy's Classic and $799 queen for Sleepy's Memory Foam. The brand doesn't publish per-model queen and king prices, sale cadence or financing terms (checked September 2026). That covers the Basic Innerspring Firm, Calm 9, Relax 10.5, Rest 2.0 and RV sizes. The brand's site was unavailable when we checked.

Sleepy's sits at the entry and budget end of Mattress Firm's floor, below Serta, Sealy and Beautyrest. SleepAdvisor rated the Relax 10.5 overall value 4/5. It's fair value if you buy on in-store promotion with the 120-night exchange safety net. Don't pay ticket price without comparing bed-in-a-box rivals.

What are the mattresses made of?

Per SleepAdvisor, the Relax 10.5 has a quilted stretch-knit cover and chemical-free fire protection. It uses three comfort foams over a Lura-Flex offset coil support core with foam edge wrap. The foams are described as petroleum-free and low-emission, meeting CertiPUR-US standards, and the coils as repurposed steel.

The rest of the line uses innerspring, memory foam, Euro-top and pillow-top builds, per the model names. The brand doesn't publish per-model layer stacks, foam densities (PCF), coil counts and gauges, or cover details. It also doesn't publish certifications beyond the CertiPUR-US mention on the Relax 10.5 (checked September 2026).

How well do the mattresses hold up?

The brand doesn't publish expected durability, foam densities, coil gauges, sag data or longevity testing for any Sleepy's model (checked September 2026). SleepAdvisor frames the Relax 10.5 as suited to sleepers under about 220 lbs and too soft for many over about 250 lbs. That implies a risk of midsection sink with heavy nightly use.

The warranty signal, per SleepAdvisor, is 5-year structural coverage. That's short against the 10-year industry norm. Ask for foam densities and coil specs in writing in store before you judge long-term hold-up.

Customer reviews and complaints

SleepAdvisor scored the Relax 10.5 as follows. Side sleepers 5/5, lightweight sleepers 5/5, combination sleepers 4/5, couples 4/5 and value 4/5. Back, stomach and heavy sleepers scored 3/5 each. GoodBed praises the Classic for edge support and low memory feel, but faults it on adjustable-base use. It praises the Memory Foam for motion isolation, deep contour and adjustable-base use, but faults it for heat and low bounce.

The brand doesn't publish aggregate star ratings, review counts or BBB and complaint tallies for Sleepy's models (checked September 2026). Recurring complaints in the excerpts we could read are plush softness that doesn't suit heavy and stomach sleepers, foam heat, and thin public spec sheets.

Where can you try and buy?

Sleepy's is sold only through Mattress Firm. Test in Mattress Firm stores nationwide, and buy in store or at mattressfirm.com. No standalone Sleepy's stores remain, since they were renamed Mattress Firm by about 2017. We found no separate Sleepy's online store.

We found no Amazon, Wayfair, Walmart or Costco listings for Sleepy's house-brand models (checked September 2026).

Delivery, setup and removal

Per SleepAdvisor, delivery is free ground delivery in the continental US, with paid in-home setup options on Sleepy's orders. The brand doesn't publish delivery speed windows, white-glove fees, setup fees, stair and elevator terms, or old-mattress removal pricing (checked September 2026). Mattress Firm's customer-service pages weren't available when we checked.

Confirm delivery ZIP coverage, fees and haul-away in writing at purchase.

Sleep trial and returns

Per SleepAdvisor, the Sleepy's line has a 120-night sleep trial with a refund-return option. The brand doesn't publish Mattress Firm's standard exchange mechanics, return and pickup fees, minimum try-out nights, or refund-versus-exchange details for Sleepy's models (checked September 2026). The policy pages weren't available when we checked.

Get the trial length, exchange fee and return shipping and pickup terms printed on your receipt before you buy.

Warranty

Per SleepAdvisor, the Sleepy's Relax 10.5 has 5-year coverage for factory structural issues, with repair or replacement at the seller's option. The brand doesn't publish a sag-depth threshold, coil and foam defect definitions, prorated or non-prorated status, foundation requirements, exclusions or the claim process (checked September 2026).

Five years is short against the 10-year norm at Serta, Sealy and bed-in-a-box rivals. Read the in-store warranty card before you buy.

Sleepy's vs. other brands

Against Mattress Firm flagships (Serta, Sealy, Beautyrest), Sleepy's is the cheaper house label. It wins on ticket price and trails on spec detail, review depth, cooling tech and warranty length. Against budget bed-in-a-box brands (Zinus, Lucid, Allswell), Sleepy's wins on try-before-you-buy in stores and the 120-night exchange path. It trails on published specs, online reviews and shippable convenience.

On durability evidence, all are thin, but Sleepy's 5-year signal is the weakest stated term. Shop Sleepy's on promotion. Cross-shop Serta and Sealy clearance and Zinus and Lucid online before you decide.

How we put this review together

We read the brand's own product, policy and warranty pages, then checked retailer listings and public complaint sites like the Better Business Bureau. We last checked everything here in September 2026. Prices and policies change, so confirm them on the seller's page before you buy. You can read more in our methodology and editorial policy.

Quick answers before you buy

Is Sleepy's an independent brand?

No. It's a Mattress Firm house brand. The old Sleepy's chain was absorbed and its stores renamed Mattress Firm.

Where can I buy Sleepy's?

Only at Mattress Firm stores and mattressfirm.com.

Which Sleepy's is best for side sleepers?

The Relax 10.5 Plush Pillow Top (medium-plush 5/10), per SleepAdvisor.

Is there a sleep trial?

Per SleepAdvisor, a 120-night trial with a refund-return option. Confirm fees on your receipt.

What warranty comes with it?

Per SleepAdvisor, 5-year structural coverage. That's short against the 10-year norm.

Are the foams certified?

SleepAdvisor reports CertiPUR-US-standard low-emission foams in the Relax 10.5. The brand doesn't publish certifications for other models as of September 2026.

More mattress brands

Browse every brand in the directory →

Find Your Evidence-Backed Match

Need a personalized mattress recommendation?

Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.

Non-toxic fire barriers Under 60 seconds No email required