Queen prices land within a few dollars of each other, so this comes down to feel choice, trial length and what happens after year 10. Bear sells three feels in one bed; Casper sells the Dream in one feel only.
Pick the Bear Elite Hybrid if you want a choice of feels, GREENGUARD Gold and CertiPUR-US certified foams, and no stated return fee. A Queen runs $1,598.80 on Bear's current sale.
Pick the Casper Dream if you want Sleep Foundation's higher overall score, a 10-year warranty with no prorated years, and don't mind one feel. A Queen runs $1,595 on Casper's current sale.
Return costBear Elite No fee statedCasper Dream Free
WarrantyBear Elite Limited LifetimeCasper Dream 10 years
DeliveryBear Elite Boxed, by FedExCasper Dream Boxed, by UPS Ground
Where the Bear Elite Hybrid wins
Three feels in one bed. Soft, Medium and Firm, all at the same price.
No stated return fee. Bear refunds what you paid after the 30-night wait.
Edge support. Sleep Foundation, Mattress Clarity and NapLab all score it higher than the Dream.
Where the Casper Dream wins
Higher Sleep Foundation score. 8.9 against Bear's 8.4.
A warranty that never prorates. Casper covers all 10 years in full.
Cooler than average, per Mattress Clarity. It scores the Dream 4 out of 5 there.
Side by side
How do the key facts compare?
Every value comes from each brand's own pages, checked Sep 27, 2026. Price is nearly a tie; height, feel choice and the warranty's later years are the real gaps.
Bear Elite Hybrid and Casper Dream, as each brand publishes them
Detail
Bear Elite Hybrid
Casper Dream
Type
Pocketed-coil hybrid
Pocketed-coil hybrid
Queen price
$1,598.80 (sale)
$1,595 (sale)
Height
14 in
12 in
Feels
Soft, Medium, Firm
Medium only
Top
Quilted Celliant Infrared cover over cooling quilt foam
Cozy cover over Breathe Flex foam
Coils
8 in Zoned Ascension pocketed coils, five support zones
Individually pocketed Flex Coils; no count published
Fire barrier
Fiberglass-free; material not named
Fiberglass-free; material not named for this model
Trial
120 nights; sleep on it 30 nights first
100 nights; sleep on it 30 nights first
Return cost
No fee stated; refunds what you paid
Free; no restocking or pickup fees
Exchange
Free once; the new mattress can't be returned again
What will each bed cost, including setup and a return?
Why this matters to you: Both brands sell every size and neither states a return fee. The gap that matters most is what happens after the trial: Bear's exchange locks out a further return; Casper's doesn't say either way.
Sale prices for each brand's Medium feel, checked Sep 27, 2026. A Queen costs about $4 more from Bear.
Cost calculator
What will you pay to keep, return or exchange it?
Brand prices, Sep 27, 2026
Bear Elite Hybrid
Pay up front
If you return it
If you swap feels
Casper Dream
Pay up front
If you return it
If you swap feels
Sale prices, Medium firmness on both. Bear's Firm and Soft feels cost the same as Medium at every size.
Size
Bear Elite Hybrid
Casper Dream
Twin
$1,398.60
$1,295
Twin XL
$1,548.40
$1,375
Full
$1,548.40
$1,495
Queen
$1,598.80
$1,595
King
$1,799
$2,195
Cal King
$1,799
$2,195
Split King
$3,096.80
$2,750
Bear's sale runs sitewide at 30% off list price under its own promotion code. Casper's sale price is shown against a higher "Comp. Value" list price. Prices change often, so recheck both before you buy.
Firmness
Feels checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
What firmness options can you choose?
Why this matters to you: Brands name their feels their own way, so one brand's Medium can be another's Luxury Firm. Sleep Foundation rates the feels it has reviewed on one 10-point scale.
The firmness choices for the beds compared here, on Sleep Foundation's 10-point firmness scale, where 1 is softest and 10 is firmest. Feel names are each brand's own; the note below flags any that differ or weren't rated. We don't test beds ourselves.
Bear Elite HybridFeels sold: Soft, Medium, Firm
568
1 Softest10 Firmest
Luxury Plush 5
Luxury Firm 6
Firm 8
Casper DreamFeels sold: Medium only
5
1 Softest10 Firmest
Medium 5
Sleep Foundation's firmness ratings. Bear Elite Hybrid review updated April 3, 2026; Casper Dream review updated Oct 14, 2025.
Sleep Foundation's Bear review uses the names Luxury Plush, Luxury Firm and Firm; Bear's page now sells Soft, Medium and Firm. The Dream's one feel lands at 5, level with Bear's softest.
Who fits
Which feel did Sleep Foundation score highest for your sleep position and weight?
Why this matters to you: Sleep Foundation scores each feel separately for lighter, average and heavier sleepers in each position, so a feel that suits one sleeper can score lower for another. These are one outlet's scores, not a promise of how a bed will feel to you.
Bear sells the Elite Hybrid in three feels; Casper sells the Dream in one. Below is the feel of each bed that Sleep Foundation's testers scored highest for each sleep position and body weight, out of 10. We don't test beds ourselves.
Fit finder
Find the top-scoring feel for your choices
Sleep Foundation scores
1. How you sleep
2. Your weight
Bear Elite Hybrid
Casper Dream
Share the bed or switch positions? Check each combination. We don't average scores across sleepers.
Best-scoring feel of each bed, out of 10. Bold marks the higher score, or both when they tie. Sleep Foundation reviews: Bear Elite Hybrid updated April 3, 2026; Casper Dream updated Oct 14, 2025.
Your weight
Side
Back
Stomach
Under 130 lbs
Bear Elite Luxury Plush 9Casper Dream8
Bear Elite Luxury Firm 7.5Casper Dream7.5
Bear Elite Luxury Firm 7.5Casper Dream6.5
130 to 230 lbs
Bear Elite Luxury Firm 9Casper Dream7.5
Bear Elite Luxury Firm or Firm 7Casper Dream6
Bear Elite Firm 7.5Casper Dream5
Over 230 lbs
Bear Elite Firm 9Casper Dream6.5
Bear Elite Firm 7.5Casper Dream5
Bear Elite Firm 7.5Casper Dream4.5
Casper sells the Dream in Medium only, so that's the only feel Sleep Foundation could score for it. Bear's Firm feel scores best for heavier sleepers in every position.
Tester results
What do review sites say about feel, cooling, partner movement and edge support?
Why this matters to you: Review sites score the same bed differently. Each uses its own scale and tests, so we show every score as it was published and never add them up into one winner.
We don't test mattresses. These are three outlets' published scores, each on its own scale, never averaged. The higher score in each pair is marked; a tie is not.
Scores as each outlet publishes them: Sleep Foundation · Mattress Clarity · NapLab. Mattress Clarity and NapLab review each bed's Medium feel; Sleep Foundation's Bear score covers all three of its feels together.
What they measured
Sleep Foundationout of 10 · Bear Elite Hybrid updated Apr 3, 2026; Casper Dream updated Oct 14, 2025
Mattress Clarityout of 5 · Sep 16 to 17, 2026
NapLabout of 10 · Sep 21, 2026 and May 18, 2026
Overall score
Bear Elite 8.4Casper Dream 8.9
Bear Elite 4.4Casper Dream 3.7
Bear Elite 9.16Casper Dream 8.68
Testers split. Mattress Clarity and NapLab score the Bear Elite Hybrid higher; Sleep Foundation favors the Casper Dream.
Motion isolation
Bear Elite 7Casper Dream 7.5
Bear Elite 4Casper Dream 3
Bear Elite 8.1Casper Dream 8
Close, and split. Sleep Foundation edges toward Casper; Mattress Clarity and NapLab edge toward Bear.
Edge support
Bear Elite 7.5Casper Dream 7
Bear Elite 4.6Casper Dream 3
Bear Elite 9.1Casper Dream 8.9
The Bear Elite Hybrid, at all three outlets. Its coil edge scores higher at each.
Cooling
Bear Elite 7Casper Dream 7
Bear Elite 2.5Casper Dream 4
Bear Elite 10Casper Dream 9
Mixed. Sleep Foundation calls it a tie, Mattress Clarity favors Casper, and NapLab favors Bear.
Pressure relief
Bear Elite 8Casper Dream 8
Bear Elite 4Casper Dream Not scored
Bear Elite 10Casper Dream 8
Sleep Foundation scores it a tie. NapLab found more relief on the Bear Elite Hybrid; Mattress Clarity didn't score this category for the Dream.
Ease of moving
Bear Elite 6.5Casper Dream 7.5
Bear Elite 5Casper Dream Not scored
Bear Elite 8.8Casper Dream 9.9
The Casper Dream, per Sleep Foundation and NapLab. Mattress Clarity didn't score this category for the Dream.
Durability
Bear Elite 7.5Casper Dream 6
Bear Elite Not scoredCasper Dream 4
Not scored
Not scored by NapLab.
Sleep Foundation favors the Bear Elite Hybrid. Mattress Clarity scored durability for the Dream only; NapLab doesn't score this category.
Smell on arrival
Not scored
Not scored
Bear Elite 8.1Casper Dream 7.8
Not scored by Sleep Foundation or Mattress Clarity.
Both ship boxed, and NapLab scores the smell close. Sleep Foundation and Mattress Clarity don't score this category for either bed.
The beds
How is each bed built, and who is it for?
Pocketed-coil hybrid
Bear Elite Hybrid
Bear Elite Hybrid
The Elite Hybrid is Bear's coil bed with copper-infused memory foam over 8 in of zoned pocketed coils. It comes in three feels: Soft, Medium and Firm.
Fire barrier: fiberglass-free, per Bear; the material isn't named on this page
Bear Elite Hybrid, Queen, as Bear lists it. Layer thicknesses beyond the 8 in coil layer aren't published. Layer order only, not to scale.
It ships boxed by FedEx in 5 to 8 business days, or you can pay extra for in-home setup and old-bed removal. You get 120 nights, but you sleep on it for 30 nights before you can return it, and Bear doesn't charge a return fee. Pick Luxury Firm if you sleep on your side between 130 and 230 lbs; Sleep Foundation scores that feel 9 out of 10 there.
Who may like this bed?
You want a choice of three feels in one hybrid bed.
You'd rather not pay a return fee if it's not right.
You want a GREENGUARD Gold and CertiPUR-US foam bed.
Who may prefer another bed?
You want more than 120 nights to decide; Bear gives fewer than Casper.
You want written mattress care steps; Bear doesn't publish any for this bed.
The Dream is Casper's hybrid with zoned Align Memory Foam over individually pocketed springs. Casper sells it in one feel, Medium, and doesn't publish a numeric firmness score.
Fire barrier: fiberglass-free, per Casper; the material isn't named for this model
Casper Dream, as Casper lists it. Coil count and individual layer thicknesses aren't published. Layer order only, not to scale.
It ships free by UPS Ground in 2 to 8 business days, or you can pay $249 for in-home delivery and setup. You get 100 nights, with the same 30-night wait as Bear before a return, and Casper charges no restocking or pickup fee. Sleep Foundation scores the Medium feel 8 out of 10 for side sleepers under 130 lbs, and 7.5 from 130 to 230 lbs.
Who may like this bed?
You want Sleep Foundation's higher overall score of the two.
You'd rather have a 10-year warranty that never prorates.
You sleep on your side under 130 lbs; Sleep Foundation scores it 8 out of 10 there.
Who may prefer another bed?
You want more than one feel; Casper sells the Dream in Medium only.
You weigh over 230 lbs and sleep on your back or stomach; scores drop there.
You want a 120-night trial; Bear gives 20 more nights.
What do the brands say about fire barriers, fiberglass and certifications?
Why this matters to you: Every mattress sold in the U.S. must pass a federal open-flame test. Some brands pass it with a barrier made with glass fiber, which can get out if the cover is removed. Know what's inside before it's in your bedroom.
Both brands say their mattress is fiberglass-free. Neither names the fire barrier material for these models on the page we checked.
Bear Elite Hybrid
Fire barrier: fiberglass-free, material not named
Bear Elite Hybrid
Bear's product page lists the bed as "Fiberglass Free" but doesn't name the barrier material on this page.
GREENGUARD Gold
Bear Elite Hybrid
An outside group certifies the bed for low chemical emissions.
CertiPUR-US foams
The foam layers only
An outside group checked that the foams are made without certain harmful chemicals and are low in emissions. It doesn't cover the coils or cover.
Casper Dream
Fire barrier: fiberglass-free, material not named
Casper Dream
Casper's product page lists the bed as "Fiberglass-free" but doesn't name the barrier material for this model.
No fiberglass, brand says
Casper's current mattress lineup
Casper's own article: "Every new Casper model is completely fiberglass-free." It says these models use rayon or proprietary silica blends for fire safety.
No materials certification listed
Casper Dream
Casper's page for this bed doesn't list a CertiPUR-US badge or similar materials certification.
Check the law tag when it arrives. It lists what the bed is made of. If it doesn't settle the fiberglass question, ask the brand in writing. Never remove a cover that says not to. Why fiberglass in mattresses matters →
Living with it
How do delivery, setup and care compare?
Why this matters to you: A boxed bed you unroll yourself is a different first night than one with clear care steps in writing. These details decide how the first weeks go.
Weights, sizes and care rules from each brand's own pages. Delivery terms here are for the contiguous U.S.; check with the brand for Alaska, Hawaii and other areas.
Delivery, setup and care for Bear Elite Hybrid and Casper Dream
Detail
Bear Elite Hybrid
Casper Dream
Sizes
Twin to Cal King, plus Split King
Twin to Cal King, plus Split King
Queen weight
80 lbs
99 lbs
How it arrives
Compressed and boxed, by FedEx
Boxed, by UPS Ground
How long it takes
5 to 8 business days
2 to 8 business days
Paid setup service
Optional in-home setup and old-bed removal; fee not stated
Optional in-home delivery and setup, $249; old-bed removal via LoadUp, $150 (not in California)
Adjustable base
Yes; Bear lists an adjustable base as a recommended base, with slats under 5.5 in apart on a frame
Yes, on a firm base with slats no more than 4 in apart
Care
Bear doesn't publish mattress care steps for this bed
Don't remove the cover. Spot-clean with water and mild detergent, then air dry fully
Where the brands differ most: Casper spells out care steps on the product page. Bear leaves them unstated for the Elite Hybrid, so ask before you buy if care matters to you.
Fine print
Terms checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
What are the trial, return and exchange rules?
Why this matters to you: "Free returns" and "lifetime warranty" both come with rules. Know what a return costs you before the bed arrives.
Here's what each brand's own policy pages say, in plain words.
Bear Elite Hybrid: your trial, night by night
Day 1The box arrives
Night 30The first night you can return
Night 120The last night to ask
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to pay
Return it$0No fee stated; you get back what you paid
Swap it$0Once; the new mattress can't be returned or exchanged again
Not covered by the trial: one return per customer, household or address; valid on your first order only
Bear Elite Hybrid: a 120-night trial, no return fee stated, one exchange only.
Casper Dream: your trial, night by night
Day 1The box arrives
Night 30The first night you can return
Night 100The last night to ask
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to pay
Return it$0No restocking, pickup or processing fees
Swap it$0Casper says availability may vary by original purchase
Not covered by the trial: returns capped at two of the same product per customer
Casper Dream: a shorter trial, with returns Casper says are free.
Warranty
Terms checked on each brand's site · Sep 27, 2026
What does each warranty cover, and what voids it?
Why this matters to you: A warranty covers defects, not comfort. Your bed base, stains and how deep a sag is all decide whether a claim is paid.
From bearmattress.com/pages/warranty and casper.com/pages/warranty, checked Sep 27, 2026.
Rule
Bear Elite Hybrid
Casper Dream
Sag that counts
Deeper than 1.5 in
Deeper than 1 in
Years 1 through 10
Free replacement, not prorated
Free repair or replacement, not prorated
Year 11 on
Prorated: 50% of retail at 11 to 15, 60% at 16 to 20, 75% at 21+
Not covered; the warranty runs 10 years total
Your bed base
Slats no more than 5.5 in apart
Slats flat, wooden, no more than 4 in apart
Stains
Void. Burns, cuts, liquid damage or stains end coverage
Void if caused by abuse or damage, including stains
If you sell it
Ends. Original buyer only
Ends. Original buyer only, US or Canada
Shipping for a claim
Not stated; Bear asks for photo evidence, not the mattress itself
Casper pays return shipping if a claim needs the mattress sent back
The trade-off: Casper's 10 years all pay in full with no prorated fee, but coverage ends there. Bear's warranty runs for the life of the original owner but charges a rising share of retail price for a repair after year 10.
The two brands measure a sag differently. Bear covers a dip deeper than 1.5 in; Casper's line is 1 in.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
How to measure a sag before you file a claim with either brand. Drawing not to scale.
Owner reviews
Review counts change daily
What do owner and company ratings show?
Why this matters to you: Each site draws a different mix of reviewers. Brand sites rate the mattress; Trustpilot and the BBB rate the company.
Ratings as each site showed them, checked Sep 27, 2026. Casper's Trustpilot score sits far below its own site rating; we report both and draw no conclusion.
Mattress ratings on each brand's page, and company ratings on Trustpilot and the BBB, for Bear Elite Hybrid and Casper Dream
Site
Bear Elite Hybrid
Casper Dream
The brand's own site
4.6 from 4,248 reviews (Elite Hybrid page)
4.5 from 4,429 reviews (Dream page)
These ratings appear on the brand's own product page.
Trustpilot
4.5 from 151 reviews; profile claimed
2.0 from 6,093 reviews; profile claimed
Report both numbers side by side and draw no conclusion about either company.
Better Business Bureau
No BBB profile found
A- rating; not accredited
A BBB rating is the BBB's view of how a business is likely to deal with customers, based on its complaint record and other business details (how the BBB rates). It doesn't rate how the bed sleeps.
What stands out: Bear has no Better Business Bureau profile to check under the name and address we could find. Casper's Trustpilot score is much lower than its own site rating; we report both numbers and draw no conclusion about the company.
Quick Answers
Quick answers before you buy
Which is cheaper, the Bear Elite Hybrid or the Casper Dream?
They're nearly tied. A Queen runs $1,598.80 from Bear and $1,595 from Casper, checked Sep 27, 2026, a gap of about $4.
Which is taller?
The Bear Elite Hybrid, by 2 in. It's 14 in tall against the Casper Dream's 12 in.
How many feels does each one come in?
Bear offers three: Soft, Medium and Firm. Bear rates them Soft 5, Medium 6 and Firm 7 out of 10 on its page. Casper sells the Dream in Medium only and publishes no numeric score.
Does either mattress contain fiberglass?
Both brands say no, but neither names the exact fire barrier material for these specific beds on the pages we checked.
Which scores higher for heavier sleepers?
The Bear Elite Hybrid's Firm feel. Sleep Foundation scores it 7.5 for back and stomach sleepers over 230 lbs; the Casper Dream's single Medium feel scores 4.5 to 5 there.
What does a return cost?
Neither states a return fee. Casper says its returns are free. Both require a 30-night wait first: Bear gives 120 nights total, Casper gives 100.
Does either ship in a box?
Yes, both. Bear ships by FedEx and Casper by UPS Ground, and both arrive boxed rather than delivered flat and set up.
Which has the better long-term warranty?
Depends what you value. Casper's 10 years never prorate, but coverage ends there. Bear's Limited Lifetime warranty keeps going after year 10, but at a rising repair fee.
Brand facts come from each brand's own pages. Scores come from the outlets named. The date shows when we last checked, or when the outlet last updated.
: Reworded return-fee lines so they say what each brand's page states: Bear names no fee, and Casper says returns are free.
: Rechecked both brands' pages. Corrected the adjustable-base answer and firmness ratings for Bear, and the claim-shipping rule for Casper.
: Rebuilt this comparison with prices by size, a cost calculator, fit by position and weight, and tester scores. Fire barriers, returns and warranty rules were rechecked on each brand's own pages.
See a fact that's out of date? Tell us and we'll recheck it.
Find Your Evidence-Backed Match
Need a personalized mattress recommendation?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.