What mattress has the most coils?

The 30-second answer

No winner established; compare listed sizes; one listing gives 11,000 individual pocket springs across multiple layers. Separate wrapped, base, or mini-coil counts show what a total includes, and gauge and turns can help explain firmness and support. One listing gives no size basis, and a high coil count alone does not establish better comfort or support.

Coil Count Basics

The Mayfair's spring total needs context

Gainsborough lists the Mayfair 11,000 with 11,000 individual pocket springs, but the listing does not state a mattress size.

A mattress cut open to show which springs a count may include: a microcoil layer, an upper coil unit, a pad, a support core of coils, and thicker perimeter coils at the edgesmicrocoil layerupper coil unitpadsupport core coilsperimeter reinforcement

A separate Mayfair listing advertises 1,000 individually sewn pocket springs without identifying the size basis.

The Saatva Classic lists 1,300 total coils for Queen (884 wrapped and 416 base) and 1,608 for King (1,088 wrapped and 520 base).

Another Mayfair listing names a 13.5-gauge Bonnell spring unit but gives no count in its product description.

Sources (4)
Coil Count Basics

What goes into a coil total?

The 4 primary support-core coil types are Bonnell, offset, continuous-wire, and pocketed.

A pocket-sprung mattress cut open with comfort layers over its spring core and foam-encased edges in place of the outer coils, with a close-up of pockets joined by stitches or gluecovercomfort layersspring corefoam-encased edgestitched or glued

Support-core coils

Saatva lists wrapped coils and base support coils separately, with a combined total.

  • Saatva lists 884 wrapped coils and 416 base coils in its Queen Classic.
  • The listed Queen total is 1,300 coils.

Perimeter coils

Some manufacturers may add low-gauge coils around the mattress perimeter to strengthen edge support.

  • Mattress & Sleep Company says its foam perimeter removes spring rows, reducing both spring count and sleeping area.
  • The Mayfair 5,000 listing names PowerEdge for extra edge support, but does not say whether it adds to the spring count.
Sources (4)
Coil Count Basics

How coil types differ

Bonnell, offset, continuous-wire, and pocketed are the 4 primary support-core coil types.

Four coil designs side by side: Bonnell hourglass coils laced by helical wire, offset coils with flat-sided top and bottom turns, continuous coils bent from one wire per row, and pocketed coils each in a fabric pocketBonnellcoilsoffsetcoilscontinuouscoilspocketedcoils

Bonnell coils

Bonnell is one of the 4 primary support-core coil types.

  • Bonnell coils are hourglass-shaped and knotted at the ends.
  • Avocado says a coil’s gauge, height, and turns shape how firm it feels.

Offset coils

Offset is also one of the 4 primary support-core coil types.

  • Sealy says adding an extra turn provides more working wire for durability and responsiveness.
  • Tuck says turns indicate softness or firmness and how supportive a mattress will feel.

Pocketed coils

Pocketed coils are one of the 4 primary support-core types.

  • For noise and motion, Sleep Foundation says pocketed coils tend to reduce noise and isolate motion better than other coil patterns.
  • Saatva’s table separates wrapped, base-support, and total counts.
Sources (6)
Coil Count Basics

A 650-coil queen needs context

The Marshall Curated Series lists 650 coils; that count sits within Sleep Foundation’s 400 to 1,200 Queen range and above Saatva’s 400-coil Queen rule of thumb.

A queen coil unit seen from above, beside a bar for the typical range of coil counts, with the listed count marked on it and a rule of thumb at its low endqueenrule of thumblisted counttypical range
Source or listingSizeCount context
Sleep FoundationQueen innerspring or hybrid400 to 1,200 possible
Saatva rule of thumbFull, Queen, KingAt least 300, 400, 480
Marshall Curated SeriesNot specified650 listed
Sources (3)
Coil Count Basics

Compare the same mattress size

In the InnoMax Spirit listing, coil counts differ by size.

Two coil units seen from above, a smaller bed beside a larger one, with the same area marked on each: the same coils fill more of them on the larger bedcompare the same areasmaller bedlarger bed
ModelSizeListed coil total
Saatva ClassicQueen1,300
Saatva ClassicCal King and Split King1,608
InnoMax SpiritTwin406
InnoMax SpiritTwin XL434
InnoMax SpiritFull580
InnoMax SpiritQueen682
Sources (2)
Comparing Coil Details

Does a higher count mean better quality?

The coil count does not identify the coil type or the metal quality.

Two coil units with the same count seen from above, and from the side: one of pocketed coils in one metal, the other of hourglass coils in another metal, neither rankedsamecountone design,one metalanother design,another metal

Support may vary with coil type, gauge, total count, and overall mattress design, according to Sleep Foundation.

Avocado says a coil’s gauge, height, and turns shape how firm it feels.

Sources (3)
Comparing Coil Details

Read gauge beside coil count

Gauge and turns can help explain firmness and feel.

One coil with its wire thickness, or gauge, shown at the cut end and its working turns marked, beside a coil unit seen from above for counting coilsworkingturnswiregaugecoil count

Coil gauge

Gauge describes wire thickness, and a lower gauge number means thicker wire.

  • GoodBed describes 12.5-gauge wire as thicker and stronger than 16.5-gauge wire.
  • Sleep Foundation describes 13-gauge coils as thicker than 17-gauge coils.
  • The Saatva Classic uses 13-gauge base coils for durability and 14.5-gauge wrapped coils for comfort.
  • Avocado says a coil’s gauge, height, and turns shape how firm it feels.

Coil turns

Turns are the number of times a coil is wound.

  • Tuck says turns help indicate softness or firmness and how supportive a mattress will feel.
  • Sealy says adding an extra turn provides more working wire for durability and responsiveness.
Sources (6)
Comparing Coil Details

Coil design affects motion transfer

Sleep Foundation says significant motion may transfer across the bed.

A press on linked coils and a press on pocketed coils: linked coils tend to move as a unit, pocketed coils move more on their ownlinked coilspocketed coilspressure
  • Saatva says 884 individually wrapped coils respond to movement and limit motion transfer.
  • Pocketed coils dampen movement transfer across the bed, according to Tom’s Guide.
Sources (3)
Comparing Coil Details

Verify the exact coil breakdown

For a fair coil-count comparison, verify the model, mattress size, and which coil layers make up the advertised total.

A shopper reading a mattress spec list of spring type, spring count and fillings, beside the mattress cut open with a ruler at its sidespring typespring countfillingscheck the listmatch it to the layers
  1. Check whether Saatva’s table lists wrapped, base-support, and total coils separately.
  2. Check that the Saatva help page names the Queen Classic and its 884 individually wrapped coils.
  3. Check whether a Mayfair total combines full-size and mini springs; its 3,000 listing separates 1,000 full-size and 2,000 mini springs.
  4. For the Mayfair 11,000, note that the listing describes multiple spring layers but does not give a size basis.
  5. Avocado directs readers to its separate per-model coil-count and innerspring page.
Sources (4)
Questions & Sources

Quick answers about mattress coil counts

Can a split King have a different coil count from a standard King?

The sources do not establish whether a Split King can have a different coil count from a standard King. Big Fig lists 1,600 coils for King and California King.

Sources (2)

Can two mattresses with similar coil totals feel different?

Yes, two mattresses with similar totals may differ in support because coil type, gauge, total count, and overall design can matter. Lower-gauge coils are thicker and more supportive, while higher-gauge coils are thinner and more flexible; some constructions use thicker wire with fewer coils or thinner wire with more.

Sources (3)

Why are full-size high-count coil systems hard to find?

The sources here do not establish why high-count Full-size coil systems are hard to find. Saatva's rule-of-thumb minimum is 300 coils for Full versus 400 coils for Queen, but those figures do not explain availability.

Sources (2)

Does a small coil-count difference matter?

A higher coil count does not necessarily mean better comfort or support because the total does not describe coil quality. Saatva describes its lower-gauge coils as thicker and more supportive; Avocado lists micro-coil and base-coil counts separately.

Sources (2)
Questions & Sources

How we research and report

We read 20 published pages from 15 sites (gainsborough-beds.co.uk, innomax.com, Saatva, help.avocadogreenmattress.com and 11 more), checked in October 2026. Every sentence in the answers above cites one of them; the offer card at the end names its own source. This page reports published sources only; we did not test mattresses in person.

Sources (20)
Find Your Evidence-Backed Match

Need a personalized mattress recommendation?

Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.

Non-toxic fire barriers Under 60 seconds No email required