The facts here do not give a stated weight capacity for an innerspring mattress. One product listing describes heavier sleepers weighing 250 to 300 pounds as an ideal fit; that is fit guidance, not a stated capacity. Check per-sleeper or total limits for the mattress, then check the base and frame separately.
The facts here do not state a numeric capacity specifically for an innerspring mattress. Read each product’s wording closely: a total limit, a per-person recommendation, and a weight range for fit describe different things.
Maker or model
Published wording
Leesa Plus Hybrid
Total limit of 1,000 pounds
Avocado, most mattresses
Recommends up to 700 pounds total for two sleepers, or 350 pounds per person
Avocado Extra Firm
Recommends 1,100 pounds total, or 550 pounds per person
Tempur-Pedic mattresses
Tempur-Pedic says its mattresses have no weight limit
Saatva Classic
Described as ideal for heavier sleepers weighing 250 to 300 pounds
If no rating appears, ask what the figure covers before comparing it with sleeper weights.
Leesa describes its Plus Hybrid limit as a total; Endy gives 250 pounds per person or 500 pounds total.
Ask whether a total includes the mattress; Monarch Rest Mattress says its capacity includes the mattress and person or people.
For Tempur-Pedic, ask about foundation and adjustable-base limits separately; Tempur-Pedic says those parts have limits even though its mattresses do not.
For couples, compare the per-sleeper figure with any combined limit; one does not replace the other. For Tempur-Pedic, keep its base or foundation rating separate from its mattress statement.
Example
Published wording
Avocado, most mattresses
Avocado recommends up to 350 pounds per person and 700 pounds total for two sleepers
Avocado Extra Firm
For Extra Firm, Avocado recommends up to 550 pounds per person and 1,100 pounds total
Check the mattress, base, and frame as separate parts of the setup.
Mattress rating
A mattress statement does not automatically describe the base; Tempur-Pedic says its mattresses have no weight limit, but its foundations and adjustable bases do.
For Tempur-Pedic, check the mattress and base limits separately.
Ask whether a Tempur-Pedic base has its own stated limit.
Foundation or base rating
Base support rules can include slat spacing, so use the rule for the mattress you have.
Titan says slats spaced more than 5 inches apart count as improper support and will void its warranty.
Saatva’s quoted slat dimensions are at least 3 inches wide and less than 4 inches apart.
Bed frame rating
Avocado says a frame’s rating should exceed sleeper weight because it also carries the mattress, foundation, and bedding.
Simmons requires rigid center support, plus support at the head, foot, and sides.
Simmons requires at least 5 hardwood or metal 1-by-4-inch slats, with legs on the 3 center slats.
Poor support or exceeding a maker’s recommended limit can affect sagging, wear, comfort, and warranty coverage.
Sagging from poor support
Check both the mattress recommendation and the base support rules when assessing sagging risk.
Avocado says exceeding its recommended limit can lead to sagging, uneven wear, reduced comfort, and possible warranty voiding.
Sleep Foundation says coil count alone does not show sturdiness or durability; Bonnell coils can be prone to center sagging.
Saatva says its coils can retain their shape through years of use, and the Classic’s coils are tempered 3 times for durability.
Simmons’s warranty text names mattresses used with inadequate support and warns that insufficient support may damage the product or void its warranty; Titan says slats spaced more than 5 inches apart are improper support that can lead to sagging, damage, or reduced comfort and void its warranty.
No, a total limit is not a per-sleeper limit in these examples. Avocado recommends up to 350 pounds per person and 700 pounds total for most mattresses; for Extra Firm, the recommendation rises to 550 pounds per person and 1,100 pounds total. Endy recommends a limit of 250 pounds per person or a total capacity of 500 pounds.
Saatva prompts buyers to select a size; the quote does not state whether the weight limit varies by size, so check whether the listing states a weight limit.
Do federal mattress rules set a weight-capacity limit?
The cited CPSC rule is an open-flame flammability standard for mattress sets; this fact does not establish whether federal rules set a weight-capacity limit, so check other federal rules before drawing a broader conclusion.
Saatva offers a mattress-height choice; the quoted wording does not state a weight capacity. Height comes from the depth of the support system plus the comfort layers, and higher-weight sleepers often choose thicker comfort systems with high-density materials.
We read 21 published pages from 14 sites (support.leesa.com, help.avocadogreenmattress.com, help.tempurpedic.com, Saatva and 10 more), checked in October 2026. Every sentence in the answers above cites one of them; the offer card at the end names its own source. This page reports published sources only; we did not test mattresses in person.