Models4 collections; the brand prints no model count
FeelsSoft to Firm
Trial90 days, with 30 days of use asked first; refund minus return shipping fee
Warranty10-year limited warranty on mattresses
Owner Reviews2.7 / Poor, 7 reviews on Trustpilot
Ship TypeFree delivery arrives in 2-3 weeks
The 30-Second Verdict: Quick Summary
Yes, if you want a Medium memory foam and innerspring bed. NapLab scored the Estate’s Medium standard design 8.12 and the Lux Estate’s Medium version, firmness 6 out of 10, 8.43. The trial is 90 days, with 30 days of use requested before a return and a $175 return shipping fee. Mattresses have a 10-year limited warranty. Direct orders include free in-home delivery and setup, plus old-bed removal if requested; delivery arrives in 2-3 weeks.
PurpleFlex is an all-foam option that costs $900 less than the Studio Queen if a lower price matters more than coils.
Which Stearns & Foster to pick: Studio for the lowest Queen price; Estate for the lower-priced NapLab-tested choice; Lux Estate for the higher NapLab score; Reserve if its listed Queen price fits your budget.
Studio
The Studio in Medium feel, memory foam over encased innersprings.
FirmnessMediumMedium in both the Standard Top and Pillow Top versions
Mattress TypeInnerspring with memory foamEncased innersprings for stability and support
Queen $$1,899.00Queen price, checked Sep 29, 2026
Coil Count1,000+ Premium CoilsA ventilated coil system for increased breathability
Key Strengths
A wide feel range. The brand's range runs from Soft to Firm.
TENCEL covers. TENCEL is used across the four collections.
Free delivery. It arrives within 2-3 weeks after ordering.
Good to Know
The BBB grade is for the parent company, not Stearns & Foster customer ratings.
Returns reduce your refund: the return fee is $175.
The feel range is Soft to Firm. Compare construction, feel, and Queen price to find a bed that fits your budget.
Outside review scores
Review sites checked: NapLab and Sleep Foundation. Their scores: NapLab 8.12 (Estate) and 8.43 (Lux Estate); newest page update May 18, 2026. Model they tested: Medium version of the Estate and the Lux Estate. Each site tests in its own way, so read each row on its own.
This line is worth a look if you want a coil-and-foam build. Compare what each collection adds before paying more.
1846
Year the brand was founded
Stearns & Foster dates to 1846. Today Sealy stands behind its warranty.
10
Year limited mattress warranty
Covers defects in workmanship or materials. Sag limits apply, and they differ by build.
90
Days to try at home
Sleep on it at least 30 days, then return it within the first 90. A return costs $175 for shipping.
When Stearns & Foster makes sense
You want a NapLab-scored model: Estate and Lux Estate have scores for their Medium versions.
You prefer TEMPUR-Indulge foam: Lux Estate and Reserve use it.
You want a choice of feels: the range runs from Soft to Firm.
When Another Mattress May Suit You Better
You want the lowest Queen price: Studio costs $1,899.00, less than Estate at $2,099.00.
You want the tallest profile: Reserve measures 16 inches.
You want TEMPUR-Indulge foam for less than Reserve: compare Lux Estate.
Review site scores
How the big review sites score Stearns & Foster
Each site's own score and the exact bed it tested, side by side.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Publication
Reported Score
Configuration Tested
Evaluation Focus
NapLabTested With Scoring System 1.3
8.12
Medium version, standard design
8.0 Cooling, 8.6 Motion Transfer, 9.0 Response Time, 8.9 Edge Support, 7.9 Sex, 8.0 Pressure Relief, 8.1 Off-Gassing, 6.4 Company
NapLabTested With Scoring System 1.3
8.43
Medium version, firmness 6 out of 10
9.0 Cooling, 8.9 Motion Transfer, 9.2 Response Time, 9.2 Edge Support, 7.8 Sex, 8.0 Pressure Relief, 8.6 Off-Gassing, 6.4 Company
Main configuration: Medium version of the Estate and the Lux Estate. Read each row's testing scope before comparing scores. Each outlet uses its own method, so we don't combine these scores into one rating.
Reading the scores
Why we don't average the scores
NapLab scores apply to each model's tested setup. Use them to compare those setups, not as a promise of how every version will feel.
Use the dates and sources shown with each result. Prices, models and policies can change.
Chapter 02
Comfort and firmness: which mattress fits you
Why this matters to you: Firmness can help narrow your choice, but the build matters too. Compare feel and construction together before you buy.
Stearns & Foster names Lux Estate Pillowtop Soft for side sleepers. Treat that recommendation as a starting point when comparing feel.
Firmness finder
Which feel fits your sleep style?
Feel range
The feel choices run from softer to firmer, with Soft and Firm at the ends. The featured models have a Medium feel, so compare their construction if you want a middle option.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Your Body Weight
Side Sleepers
Back Sleepers
Stomach Sleepers
GoodBed uses a Lighter Weight band below 150 lb for its Lux Estate Medium Tight Top ratings.
Lux Estate Pillow Top Soft
GoodBed rated the Lux Estate Medium Tight Top Very Good (8/10) for back sleepers under 150 lb.
GoodBed rated the Lux Estate Medium Tight Top Very Good (8/10) for stomach sleepers under 150 lb.
Mattress Clarity uses a Heavyweight band over 230 lb for its Lux Estate Medium Pillow Top test.
Mattress Clarity rated the Lux Estate Medium Pillow Top Fair for side sleepers over 230 lb.
Mattress Clarity rated the Lux Estate Medium Pillow Top Good for back sleepers over 230 lb.
Mattress Clarity rated the Lux Estate Medium Pillow Top Bad for stomach sleepers over 230 lb.
Under 130 lbs
Yes (8/10)
Maybe (7/10)
Maybe (7/10)
130 to 230 lbs
Yes (8.5/10)
Maybe (6.5/10)
Maybe (6/10)
Over 230 lbs
Yes (8/10)
Maybe (5.5/10)
Maybe (5/10)
Neck: on your side, your nose should line up with the middle of your chest, not tip up or down.
Shoulders: your bottom shoulder should sink in. Tingling or a numb arm means the bed is too firm for you.
Lower back: on your back, slide a flat hand under your waist. A big gap means too firm; no room at all can mean too soft.
Hips: ask someone to look from the side. Hips lower than shoulders means the bed is too soft for you.
Figure 2.1: Four checks to run in a store, lying still in the position you sleep in most. The store test in chapter 11 says how long to lie on each bed.
Chapter 03
Compare the mattresses
Why this matters to you: Each featured model pairs memory foam with innersprings. Compare coils, covers, and vents to see how the collections differ.
The range runs from Soft to Firm, while the featured models have a Medium feel. Compare build and Queen price to narrow your choice.
Studio has 1,000+ coils. Estate and Lux Estate each have 1,500+, while Reserve has 1,700+. Lux Estate and Reserve use TEMPUR-Indulge Memory Foam; Studio uses Premium Memory Foam.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Visual
Model
Build
Profile
Firmness
Queen $
Coil Count
Fiberglass
Studio
Memory Foam & Innersprings
14
Medium
$1,899.00
1,000+ Premium Coils
No fiberglass.
Estate
Memory Foam & Innersprings
13.5
Medium
$2,099.00
1,500+ Premium Coils
No fiberglass.
Lux Estate
Memory Foam & Innersprings
14.5
Medium
$3,299.00
1,500+ Premium Coils
No fiberglass.
Reserve
Memory Foam & Innersprings
16
Medium
$4,899.00
1,700+ Premium Coils
No fiberglass.
Where the maker doesn't publish a number, we say so. Each model's fire barrier, as the law tag or the brand lists it, is in the materials and safety chapter.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Coil gauge
Coil count
Foam density
Latex
Studio
A retailer listing for the Studio Medium Tight Top gives a coil gauge of 14.75.
1,000+
Not published by Stearns & Foster
Not published by Stearns & Foster
Estate
A retailer listing for the Estate Firm Pillow Top gives a coil gauge of 14.88.
1,500+
Not published by Stearns & Foster
No latex listed on the tested Estate mattress law tag (model 531676).
Lux Estate
18 gauge comfort coils; 15 gauge support coils at head/feet and lumbar (RTINGS test unit).
Lux Estate: the TEMPUR-Indulge upgrade for foam buyers
Lux Estate
Lux Estate mattress
ConstructionMemory Foam & Innersprings
Profile14.5
FirmnessMedium
Queen $$3,299.00
Premium coils1,500+ Premium Coils
Lux Estate uses TEMPUR-Indulge Memory Foam and a TENCEL cover with cooling fibers. NapLab scored its Medium version 8.43. That result applies to the tested setup.
The model uses 1,500+ premium coils. Its Queen price is $3,299.00.
Best For
You want TEMPUR-Indulge foam with a cooling-fiber cover.
You want a Queen at $3,299.00 and an outside NapLab score.
Consider Instead If
If price matters more than TEMPUR-Indulge foam, compare Estate. It costs less.
Why this matters to you: Collection names help you match a mattress to its build. Use the name when comparing a used bed.
Studio, Estate, Lux Estate, and Reserve are sold now. Match the collection name to the mattress before comparing its build.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Line
Sold
Status
What it was
Studio
Studio Collection
Not published by Stearns & Foster
Sold now
Hand-sewn mattress to deliver sleep of your dreams
Estate
Estate Collection
Not published by Stearns & Foster
Sold now
Perfect balance of comfort and support with IntelliCoil
Lux Estate
Lux Estate Collection
From 2016
Sold now
IntelliCoil innersprings for perfect level of all-night support
Reserve
Reserve Collection
From 2016
Sold now
Meticulously designed with finest materials for one-of-a-kind sleep experience
We read the About Us page for the company's founding story.
Chapter 04
Prices checked Sep 29, 2026 · recheck before buying
Mattress prices and value
Why this matters to you: The Studio Queen costs $1,899.00. Size affects price, so compare the size you plan to buy.
Studio costs $1,799.00 for a Twin and $2,499.00 for a California King. Check your bed frame size before ordering.
Full costs $1,849.00, and Queen costs $1,899.00. King and California King each cost $2,499.00. Choose for fit, not price alone.
Studio prices by size, twin to California king
Twin
74L x 38W$1,799.00
Twin Long
79L x 38W$1,799.00
Full
74L x 53W$1,849.00
Queen
79L x 60W$1,899.00
King
79L x 76W$2,499.00
CA King
83L x 72W$2,499.00
White-glove delivery, setup, and old-mattress removal are covered in Delivery & Setup.
Prices and sales discounts come from current brand catalogs. Prices may change during holiday promotions.
Are the expensive ones worth it?
Pay more when a model adds something you want. Compare price with the materials and coil system.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Buy Stearns & Foster If
Skip If
Buy Instead
Studio ($1,899.00)
You want the lowest queen price of the four ($1,899.00)
You want TEMPUR-Indulge foam or a cooling-fiber cover
Estate, for 1,500+ coils at $2,099.00
Estate ($2,099.00)
You want a NapLab-scored bed (8.12) at $2,099.00
You want TEMPUR-Indulge foam or a cooling-fiber cover
Lux Estate, for TEMPUR-Indulge foam at $3,299.00
Lux Estate ($3,299.00)
You want TEMPUR-Indulge foam and a NapLab score (8.43)
You want the Estate's lower $2,099.00 price
Estate, if price matters more than TEMPUR-Indulge foam
Reserve ($4,899.00)
You want the tallest profile here (16 inches) and 1,700+ coils
You want TEMPUR-Indulge foam without the top price ($4,899.00)
Lux Estate, for TEMPUR-Indulge foam at $3,299.00
Chapter 05
How well do the mattresses hold up?
Why this matters to you: A warranty tells you what the maker will cover. Read its defect and sag terms before you buy.
The bed has a 10-year limited warranty. Compare its term with how long you plan to keep the bed.
Coil counts differ across the collections, but count alone cannot tell you how a bed will feel. Compare the full build before treating a higher count as a better fit.
What to watch for, and when:
Before ordering: read the warranty terms for the model.
At delivery: save your order and warranty details.
If a defect appears: check whether it involves faulty work or materials.
Ownership, deals, lawsuits & launches
Company History & Model Evolution
Company history and current mattress features answer different questions. Use the model's own build to compare its design.
Each milestone comes from the brand's own pages, government and court records, or named news reports, each with the date we checked it. Factory suppliers may update minor parts over time.
What we could confirm, and what the brand doesn't say
The left column is what we confirmed, with a source. The right column is what the brand doesn't publish. Use the right column as your list of questions for a store or the brand's chat.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
What we confirmed
What the brand doesn't publish
VERIFIED10-year limited warranty on mattresses The mattress has a 10-year limited warranty. Check its limits and construction-based sag terms before relying on coverage.
NOT PUBLISHEDThe warranty excludes normal sag below 1.5 inches for latex or innerspring mattresses, and below 0.75 inches for memory foam mattresses. The maker does not state sag thresholds on its own pages. Compare the sag term with the mattress construction.
VERIFIEDHand-stitching to hand signature craftsmanship The brand describes hand-stitching as part of its craftsmanship.
NOT PUBLISHEDThe brand says to use a completely flat, solid surface with adequate center support and not a conventional box spring. The warranty is limited. Read the terms that apply to the mattress you plan to buy.
VERIFIEDManufactured in US-based facilities Stearns & Foster says its beds are made in U.S.-based facilities.
NOT PUBLISHEDPhysical damage including liquid damage and stains is not covered by the warranty. The maker does not state stain rules on its warranty page. Keep stains in mind when reviewing coverage.
VERIFIEDFounded in 1846 as a partnership between George S. Stearns and Seth C. Foster The brand says it began as a partnership between George S. Stearns and Seth C. Foster.
NOT PUBLISHEDThe Stearns & Foster Company was purchased by Ohio-Sealy Mattress Manufacturing Company on December 22, 1983. The brand story describes mergers, expansions, and later integration into Tempur Sealy, but does not date those changes.
Where sources disagree
The tag names Stearns & Foster as the brand and Sealy Mattress as the manufacturer. Those labels describe different roles.
Chapter 06
Sleep trials, returns, exchanges and fees
Why this matters to you: The return policy has costs and limits. Check the product rules before buying.
Know the return terms before ordering. Foundations and Power Bases cannot be returned.
The trial lasts 90 days.
A return costs $175.
Retail store purchases follow the retailer's policy.
Start a return with the return form, and a representative will address your concerns. Keep your order details handy.
Your trial, night by night
When delivery partner schedules deliveryPlace mattress in room, remove old mattress if requested
30 daysFill out return form, representative will address concerns
After 90 nightsProtected from product defects by 10-Year Limited Warranty
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to do
Return it$175Retail store purchases subject to retailer policy
Swap it$175 shipping, plus tax; price difference may also apply.A same-model feel exchange may have a price difference and added shipping fee.
Not covered by the trial: Purchases from retail stores follow that retailer’s return and exchange policies.
Figure 6.1: The trial in three dates and three prices. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.
Return shipping is deducted from your refund. Include that deduction in your buying budget.
For a store purchase, contact the retailer to ask whether an exchange is available. Check its options before arranging a return.
Check the terms for your seller and order date before buying from Stearns & Foster.
Chapter 07
Delivery, setup and old-mattress removal
Why this matters to you: Delivery timing matters if you need a bed by a set date. Allow within 2-3 weeks for arrival after ordering.
Stearns & Foster offers free delivery. Use the arrival window to plan your order.
Free delivery removes a delivery charge from the order. Budget separately for the mattress and any return.
Typical wait: within 2-3 weeks
Before checkout: choose the collection and size.
Before delivery: make room for the mattress and frame.
At delivery: check that the mattress matches your order.
Figure 7.1: What happens between your order and your first night. Clear a path to the bedroom before the team arrives.
Confirm the delivery date, setup and removal terms for your address before ordering.
Chapter 08
Terms checked on the brand's site · recheck before you buy
What do the warranties cover?
Why this matters to you: Warranty claims can depend on sag depth and mattress construction. Check the rule for your top style before relying on coverage.
The sag rule differs by top construction. Check which threshold applies to your mattress before making a claim.
The 10-year limited warranty covers defects due to faulty workmanship or materials. Coverage is subject to limits and construction-based sag terms.
The warranty's sag thresholds are 1 ½″ for quilted or tufted top mattresses, or ¾″ for flat top panel mattresses without any quilting or tufting. Match the rule to the mattress top.
Keep your purchase details with the warranty terms. Read the claim rules before filing.
Covered when the dip is deeper than 1 ½″ for quilted or tufted top mattresses, or ¾″ for flat top panel mattresses without any quilting or tufting, measured with nobody on the bed.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
Figure 8.1: How to measure a sag before you file a warranty claim. Drawing not to scale.
Before you set it up
Which bed bases keep your warranty
Warranty rules
Put the mattress on one of the bases marked OK. The wrong base can void the warranty, even on a new bed.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Base
OK?
What the rule says
If you use it
Firm solid-surface, non-spring foundation or adjustable base
Compatible
Structurally capable of supporting weight of mattress and users
Inadequate bases include plywood, bunkie boards, plastic liners
5 equally spaced hardwood cross-slats with supporting center leg, 3 inches wide, 4 inches apart max
5 equally spaced hardwood cross-slats with supporting center leg
3 inches wide and no more than 4 inches apart with supporting center leg
Improper handling or use voids warranty for defects
Box spring
Incompatible
Firm solid-surface, non-spring foundation required
Improper foundation excludes warranty coverage for defects
Power base (adjustable) for mattress support
Compatible
Structurally capable of supporting weight of mattress and users
Inadequate base excludes warranty coverage for defects
Chapter 09
Review counts checked on each site · they change daily
Customer reviews and complaints
Why this matters to you: Customer reviews and mattress scores answer different questions. Keep owner feedback separate from bed results.
Trustpilot shows 2.7 / Poor from 7 reviews. Read comments for context, not just the score.
How we read the reviews
We read Trustpilot review pages and BBB profiles, then date each score.
We keep the parent-company grade apart from customer ratings.
We record when we checked each site so changes are easier to spot.
The BBB parent-company profile shows a letter grade of A+. It is not a customer rating for Stearns & Foster.
Read each platform on its own: who runs it, its rating scale, how many reviews it has, and the date we checked it.
Reported praise and concerns:
Use review comments to learn what a score cannot show. Check whether a concern matters to your needs.
Review sites side by side
What each review site says
7 reviews on Trustpilot
Trustpilot reviews cover Stearns & Foster, while the BBB profile is for its parent company. Check which business a score covers before comparing ratings.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Platform
Rating
Sample
Platform mark:Trustpilot
2.7 Poor
7
Platform mark:BBB (parent Tempur Sealy International profile)
A+ Parent accredited since 2/13/1995
1 customer review.
Dated captures from the review pages
We saved each review page on the date shown, so you can see the same ratings we did. Live pages change after the capture date.
Stearns & Foster Reviews shows 2.7 (Poor) from 7 reviews on Trustpilot. .https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.stearnsandfoster.comTempur Sealy International Inc. (parent company BBB profile) shows a letter grade of A+, not a customer rating. .https://www.bbb.org/us/ky/lexington/profile/mattress/tempur-sealy-international-inc-0402-4000272
Chapter 10
What are the mattresses made of?
Why this matters to you: The build shows which materials and support parts each model uses. Compare the coils, foam, cover, and vents before you pay more.
The collections use coils, memory foam, and TENCEL covers. Compare each model's materials and airflow features before choosing.
Studio has a TENCEL cover with moisture-wicking fibers. Estate has a TENCEL cover, while Lux Estate and Reserve add cooling fibers. Check the cover and vent details when comparing materials.
What is inside each model
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Top layer
Support
Coils
Cooling
Cover
Fire barrier
Studio
Premium Memory Foam
High-Quality Innersprings
1,000+ Premium Coils with DuraFlex Pro
Ventilated coil system with external air vents
TENCEL cover with moisture-wicking fibers
Rayon and polyester blend; no fiberglass.
Estate
IntelliCoil innersprings and premium memory foam
IntelliCoil innersprings
1,500+ Premium Coils with IntelliCoil
A system of ventilated coils and 4 AirVents
TENCEL cover
Rayon and polyester blend; no fiberglass.
Lux Estate
TEMPUR-Indulge Memory Foam
IntelliCoil innersprings
1,500+ Premium Coils with IntelliCoil HD
A system of ventilated coils and 8 AirVents
TENCEL cover with cooling fibers
Rayon and polyester blend; no fiberglass.
Reserve
TEMPUR-Indulge Memory Foam
IntelliCoil HD springs
1,700+ Premium Coils with IntelliCoil HD
Ventilated coils and AirVents
TENCEL cover with cooling fibers
Rayon and polyester blend; no fiberglass.
The materials, in plain words
TENCEL
Silky and sustainably sourced moisture-wicking fiber.
Used in: the cover on all four models
Indulge Memory Foam
A comfort foam made for the brand by Tempur-Pedic scientists. The brand says it adds a plush feel and pressure relief.
Used in: Estate, Lux Estate, and Reserve collections.
Indulge HD Memory Foam
A higher-density version of Indulge Memory Foam, developed for comfort and support.
Used in: Lux Estate collection.
Latex
Latex is a mattress material used in some of the brand's collections. The brand confirms its presence but does not describe its properties on this page.
Used in: Lux Estate and Reserve collections.
IntelliCoil innersprings
A nested coil design that responds to pressure to provide support.
Used in: Estate, Lux Estate, Hybrid, and Reserve lines.
IntelliCoil HD
A denser coil design with more coils for adaptive support.
Used in: Estate, Lux Estate, Hybrid, and Reserve lines.
IntelliCoil Micro Layer
A coil layer that spans the mattress and is designed for support and conforming comfort.
Used in: Lux Estate collection.
Safety labels, and what each one covers
A law tag can help you read fill materials and maker details. Use it to check the mattress in front of you.
What these labels do and don't prove
A TENCEL cover describes the cover, not the full mattress. Compare it with the full model build before deciding.
Read your law tag
How to read the law tag in three steps
Why this matters to you: A law tag gives fill and maker details for that mattress. Compare them with the bed you plan to buy.
Law tag guide
How to read a Stearns & Foster law tag
The tag also lists a plant address: 125 S. 67th Ave. Ste 150 Phoenix, AZ 85043. Keep it separate from the made-for and manufacturer lines.
The three steps
1
Find the fill list
Find the fill list first. It names the materials in the filling.
2
Check what the tag leaves out
Check the finished size and net weight. These details can help match the tag to the mattress.
3
Find the maker
Read the made-for and manufacturer lines separately. Those labels show the role of each name.
Full law tag guide, factory code decoding, and the certificate glossary live on our shared safety page.
How to read this: the law tag, the brand's own statements, and certificates each cover different things. A spec the brand doesn't publish isn't proof it's missing; it just isn't shared.
Chapter 11
Where can you try and buy the mattresses?
Why this matters to you: A short test in a store beats any spec sheet. Then weigh the store's return terms against the 90-day trial.
Stearns & Foster sells through stores and its own site. Direct orders include free delivery, setup and old-bed removal.
The Find A Retailer tool lists stores near you that carry the beds. A store purchase follows that store's return policy, not the brand's.
Showroom Network
Not published by Stearns & Foster
The brand directs shoppers to its Find A Retailer tool to locate a nearby store.
Store Access
Try beds at a retailer
Use Find A Retailer to find a nearby location and try products in person.
Sales Culture
Sleep Expert purchase help is available by phone at 1-866-783-2767.
Direct online ordering and local retail purchases are available.
Inventory & Delivery
Free delivery and setup
Direct orders include free setup and old-bed removal; delivery arrives in 2-3 weeks.
Stores let you try the beds in person. Buying direct gets the brand's 90-day trial instead.
How to test a bed in the store
Lie in your usual position for at least 15 minutes. A quick sit tells you nothing.
Bring your own pillow so your neck sits at its normal height.
Ask the store for its return terms in writing; they are not the brand's 90-day trial.
Stores that carry Stearns & Foster
A sample to show the mix of store types. Use the brand's store finder for the ones near you.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
#
City & State
Store Format
1
Mattress Firm
Retailer: online mattress listings
2
Macy's
Retailer: online mattress listings
3
Raymour & Flanigan
Retailer: brand landing page with shop link
4
US-Mattress
Retailer: online mattress shop
The brand offers a store locator on its site and publishes no store list.
Chapter 12
Stearns & Foster vs. other mattress brands
Why this matters to you: The choice comes down to price, coil count, and foam. Pay for the features that matter to you.
Prices range from Studio at $1,899.00 to Reserve at $4,899.00. Compare lower cost with the taller, higher-coil Reserve.
Estate has a NapLab score, while Lux Estate adds TEMPUR-Indulge foam. Choose the feature that matters most.
Studio has the lowest Queen price. Of the two NapLab-scored models, Estate has the lower Queen price. Compare the price with the coil count before deciding.
Kingsdown Passions Bankwell, Queen
Hybrid for less
Kingsdown Passions Bankwell$1,799.00 (-$100)
Hybrid, Tri-Tech Gel Infused Memory Foam
Why choose over Stearns & Foster:Hybrid for less. Kingsdown Passions Bankwell costs $100 less than Studio and has a hybrid build with Tri-Tech Gel Infused Memory Foam, while Studio uses memory foam and innersprings. Pick it if you want that hybrid build for less.
PurpleFlex, Queen
All-foam for less
PurpleFlex$999 (-$900)
All-foam
Why choose over Stearns & Foster:All-foam for less. PurpleFlex costs $900 less than Studio and has an all-foam build, while Studio uses memory foam and innersprings. Pick it if you prefer all-foam and a lower price.
DreamCloud Ultra Memory Foam, Queen
All-foam alternative
DreamCloud Ultra Memory Foam$2,299 (+$400)
All foam
Why choose over Stearns & Foster:All-foam alternative. DreamCloud Ultra Memory Foam costs $400 more than Studio and has an all-foam build, while Studio uses memory foam and innersprings. Pick it if you prefer an all-foam build and accept the higher price.
Competitor details reflect published prices and specs on the date shown. Mattress brands may update prices and trial terms over time.
Chapter 13
How we research and report
We read Stearns & Foster product and policy pages, plus outside test and review sites. We date the numbers so you can see when each check was made.
We read maker pages for construction and policy details, and review sites for customer views. We date each number to keep those checks clear.
We read outside test results to see which models and setups each score covers. We keep each outlet's result separate.
How we check this page
Maker pages: We read collection, warranty, and delivery pages.
Outside scores: We read NapLab and Sleep Foundation reviews and date each score.
Customer views: We read Trustpilot and the BBB parent-company profile, then date each rating.
Prices: We checked them on Sep 29, 2026.
Stage 01Factory
Who built the bed
We read Stearns & Foster collection pages for construction and material claims. We date product details and prices.
Stage 02Test results
Outside test results
We read NapLab and Sleep Foundation review pages for outside scores. We date each result and keep each outlet's scale apart.
Stage 03Safety
Fire safety papers and the law tag
We read collection pages for Studio, Estate, Lux Estate, and Reserve. We checked prices on Sep 29, 2026.
Stage 04Pressure and motion
Outside pressure and motion tests
We read NapLab results and name the outlet beside each score. We date each result so you can judge when it was checked.
Stage 05Reviews
Review scores, side by side
We read Trustpilot reviews and the BBB parent-company profile. We date the ratings and keep the two types separate.
Quick Answers
Quick Answers Before You Buy
These answers cover buying, warranty, and mattress details. Prices were checked on Sep 29, 2026.
Safety and materials
What is inside a Stearns & Foster Studio?
Studio pairs 1,000+ premium coils with memory foam and innersprings. Its cover uses TENCEL fibers.
What does the law tag say is inside an Estate?
The fill list names a polyurethane foam pad at 89%, blended fiber batting at 7%, and polyester fiber pad at 4%.
Buying and policies
How long is the trial, and what does a return cost?
Use the mattress for 30 days before starting a return. The trial lasts 90 days.
Where can I buy one, and how long does delivery take?
Buy online, by phone, or through an authorized retailer. Phone sales include help from a knowledgeable Sleep Expert.
What does the warranty cover?
The warranty covers defects due to faulty workmanship or materials. Its limits and sag terms vary by construction.
Can I put it on a box spring?
Confirm your frame and foundation are compatible before ordering.
Prices and promos checked Sep 29, 2026. Recheck before buying.
Find Your Evidence-Backed Match
Need a personalized mattress recommendation?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.