Pike's Mattress (Pike's Brand) is an Evansville, Indiana family mattress maker, in business since 1946. It went online-only after a September 2024 fire destroyed its store and plant. Six models run from about $510 to $2,900. They mix partner-built American innersprings with Ortho Mattress hospitality and latex hybrids. It's best if you want a US-built two-sided innerspring. It doesn't publish a sleep trial, and the Originals are local-delivery only.
Ace Latex and Cotton and Wool Mattress
Ace Latex and Cotton and Wool Mattress, product photo
FirmnessMedium-firmNot yet researched
Mattress TypeLatex, wool and cottonNot yet researched
Queen $$2,900, size not statedNot yet researched
Coil CountNot yet researchedNot yet researched
Key Strengths
Shoppers who want US-built two-sided flippable innersprings (Miss Virginia, St Augustine)
Back and stomach sleepers who want firm or ultra-firm surfaces
Side sleepers who want plush pressure relief (Capri Plush)
Hotel-style sleep fans (Ace, Kalahari)
Natural-material shoppers (Ace latex, wool and cotton)
Good to Know
Shoppers who need a published sleep trial or return terms
Anyone outside the contiguous 48 states
Buyers who want in-store try-before-buy (no showroom since the 2024 fire)
Shoppers who want fast roll-packed bed-in-box delivery for the Originals
Good fit: shoppers wanting US-built two-sided flippable innersprings (Miss Virginia, St Augustine); back and stomach sleepers wanting firm or ultra-firm surfaces (Lansdowne, Miss Virginia Standard); side sleepers wanting plush pressure relief (Capri Plush); hotel-style sleep fans (Ace, Kalahari); natural-material shoppers (Ace latex-wool-cotton).
Poor fit: shoppers needing a published sleep trial or return terms; shoppers outside the contiguous 48 states; shoppers wanting in-store try-before-buy (no showroom since the 2024 fire); shoppers needing fast roll-packed bed-in-box delivery for the made-to-order Originals.
Outside review scores
Review sites checked: Not yet researched. Their scores: Not published. Model they tested: Not yet researched. Each site tests in its own way, so read each row on its own.
Pike's Mattress (Pike's Brand) is an Evansville, Indiana family mattress maker since 1946, rebuilt as online-only after a September 2024 fire destroyed its store and plant. Six catalog models run from about $510 to $2,900, mixing partner-built American innersprings with Ortho Mattress hospitality and latex hybrids. Best for shoppers wanting US-built two-sided innersprings. Caveat: no published sleep trial; Originals are local-delivery only.
Since 1946
In business
Six models, $510 to $2,900
Catalog
Online-only since Sept 2024 fire
Now sells
When Pikes Mattress makes sense
Shoppers who want US-built two-sided flippable innersprings (Miss Virginia, St Augustine)
Back and stomach sleepers who want firm or ultra-firm surfaces
Side sleepers who want plush pressure relief (Capri Plush)
Hotel-style sleep fans (Ace, Kalahari)
Natural-material shoppers (Ace latex, wool and cotton)
When Another Mattress May Suit You Better
Shoppers who need a published sleep trial or return terms
Anyone outside the contiguous 48 states
Buyers who want in-store try-before-buy (no showroom since the 2024 fire)
Shoppers who want fast roll-packed bed-in-box delivery for the Originals
Review site scores
How the big review sites score Pikes Mattress
Each site's own score and the exact bed it tested, side by side.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Publication
Reported Score
Configuration Tested
Testing Scope
Evaluation Focus
Main configuration: Not yet researched. Read each row's testing scope before comparing scores. Each outlet uses its own method, so we don't combine these scores into one rating.
Reading the scores
Why we don't average the scores
Use the dates and sources shown with each result. Prices, models and policies can change.
Chapter 02
Comfort and firmness: which mattress fits you
Why this matters to you: Feel names are the brand's words, not measurements. Use them to shortlist two or three beds, then let your body decide.
Side sleepers: Capri Plush (soft contouring for shoulders and hips) or Miss Virginia Pillow Top and St Augustine Pillow Top (plush tops over support). Back sleepers: Miss Virginia Standard Top (firm, minimal sink), St Augustine Standard Top (medium-firm), or Lansdowne Ultra Firm (very solid). Stomach sleepers: Lansdowne Ultra Firm first, then Miss Virginia Standard.
Hot sleepers: Ace (wool plus latex, temperature-regulating positioning) or Kalahari (gel memory foam plus ventilating quilt, per maker). Higher-weight or edge-sitting shoppers: Miss Virginia and St Augustine cite seating-grade edge support; Kalahari cites Solid State edge. Guidance is brand and maker positioning only; no per-model sleeper test data published.
Firmness finder
Which Pikes Mattress feel fits you?
Weight chart not yet researched
Weight and sleep position can change how a bed feels. We have not yet checked whether Pikes Mattress publishes a fit chart by body weight, so use a trial, where one is offered, to test the bed the way you sleep at home.
Neck: on your side, your nose should line up with the middle of your chest, not tip up or down.
Shoulders: your bottom shoulder should sink in. Tingling or a numb arm means the bed is too firm for you.
Lower back: on your back, slide a flat hand under your waist. A big gap means too firm; no room at all can mean too soft.
Hips: ask someone to look from the side. Hips lower than shoulders means the bed is too soft for you.
Figure 2.1: Four checks to run in a store, lying still in the position you sleep in most. The store test in chapter 11 says how long to lie on each bed.
Chapter 03
Compare the mattresses
Why this matters to you: Models from one brand can differ in feel, height and layers. Match the feel label and height to how you sleep before you compare prices.
Pikes Mattress lists 6 models. Feel names are the brand's labels.
Ace Latex and Cotton and Wool Mattress ($2,900; vendor Ortho Mattress Inc.): hospitality build made for Ace Hotels; medium-firm; Joma wool plus cotton plush top, medium-firm New Zealand wool climate layer, medium-firm latex comfort layer, firm latex support core; tack-n-jump quilted cover; Twin to Cal King with foundation and adjustable-base options.
Capri Plush (from $509.99; Ortho): entry plush single-sided, no flip; gel-infused memory foam over CertiPUR-US foam core with breathable Tencel quilted cover; positioned for side and combination sleepers; made to order in 7 to 14 days.
Kalahari Mattress ($1,619.99; Ortho Hospitality Collection): hotel-style innerspring with independent 360-degree honeycomb coils, Solid State edge support, double-sided gel-infused memory foam layers, cotton-blend ventilating quilt; 10-year full replacement warranty; sold exclusively through Ortho's Hospitality Division.
Lansdowne Ultra Firm Latex Hybrid ($1,929.99; Ortho Reserve Collection): ultra-firm Dunlop latex over individually wrapped coils with CoolQuilt, Solidstate comfort and Ortho Enhanced 360-degree support; pitched at back and stomach sleepers.
Original Miss Virginia (from $1,400; Pike's Brand; most popular): traditional two-sided flippable innerspring in Standard Top (firmer, back-sleeper pick) or Pillow Top (plush both sides); copper infused in cover and foam; seating-grade edge support; power-base friendly; custom built in 3 to 5 weeks; local delivery only.
Original St Augustine (from $1,300; Pike's Brand; the classic): two-sided flippable innerspring in Standard Top (medium-firm) or Pillow Top (plush without losing support); seating-grade edge; power-base friendly; partner-built to Pike's specs with all-American components though quilt pattern may vary; 3 to 5 week build; local delivery only.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Visual
Model
Build
Firmness (brand words)
Queen $
Coil Count
Ace Latex and Cotton and Wool Mattress
Latex, wool and cotton
Medium-firm
$2,900, size not stated
Not yet researched
Capri Plush
Gel memory foam
Plush
From $509.99
No coils (all-foam)
Kalahari Mattress
Hotel-style innerspring
Not yet researched
$1,619.99, size not stated
Not yet researched
Lansdowne Ultra Firm Latex Hybrid
Latex hybrid
Ultra-firm
$1,929.99
Not yet researched
Original Miss Virginia
Two-sided innerspring
Standard Top firmer; Pillow Top plush
$1,650
Not yet researched
Original St Augustine
Two-sided innerspring
Standard Top medium-firm; Pillow Top plush
$1,500
Not yet researched
Where the maker doesn't publish a number, we say so.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Coil gauge
Coil count
Foam density
Latex
ILD
Model 1 of 6
Ace Latex and Cotton and Wool Mattress: Hospitality build made for Ace Hotels
Ace Latex and Cotton and Wool Mattress
Ace Latex and Cotton and Wool Mattress, product photo
ConstructionLatex, wool and cotton
ProfileNot yet researched
FirmnessMedium-firm
Queen $$2,900, size not stated
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
A hospitality build made for Ace Hotels by Ortho Mattress Inc. It has a Joomla wool and cotton plush top, a medium-firm New Zealand wool climate layer, a medium-firm latex comfort layer and a firm latex support core, in a tack-n-jump quilted cover. Twin to Cal King, with foundation and adjustable-base options.
Capri Plush: Plush for side and combination sleepers
Capri Plush
Capri Plush, product photo
ConstructionGel memory foam
ProfileNot yet researched
FirmnessPlush
Queen $From $509.99
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
Gel-infused memory foam over a CertiPUR-US foam core, with a breathable Tencel quilted cover, for side and combination sleepers. Built by Ortho and made to order in 7 to 14 days.
A hotel-style innerspring with independent 360-degree honeycomb coils, Solid State edge support, double-sided gel-infused memory foam layers and a cotton-blend ventilating quilt. It has a 10-year full replacement warranty and is sold only through Ortho's Hospitality Division (Ortho Hospitality Collection).
Lansdowne Ultra Firm Latex Hybrid: For back and stomach sleepers
Lansdowne Ultra Firm Latex Hybrid
Lansdowne Ultra Firm Latex Hybrid, product photo
ConstructionLatex hybrid
ProfileNot yet researched
FirmnessUltra-firm
Queen $$1,929.99
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
Ultra-firm Dunlop latex over individually wrapped coils, with CoolQuilt, Solidstate comfort and Ortho Enhanced 360-degree support (Ortho Reserve Collection). It's pitched at back and stomach sleepers.
The most popular model. It's a traditional two-sided flippable innerspring with copper in the cover and foam, seating-grade edge support and power-base compatibility. It's custom built in 3 to 5 weeks, with local delivery only.
FirmnessStandard Top medium-firm; Pillow Top plush
Queen $$1,500
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
The classic two-sided flippable innerspring, with seating-grade edge and power-base compatibility. A partner builds it to Pike's specs with all-American components, though the quilt pattern may vary. It takes 3 to 5 weeks to build, with local delivery only.
Prices checked Not yet researched · recheck before buying
Mattress prices and value
Why this matters to you: A starting price can rise with size, base and delivery. Get the full price for your size in writing before you choose.
Mattress prices (list, all sizes cost more; page prices shown equal for regular and sale): Capri Plush from $509.99; Original St Augustine from $1,300; Original Miss Virginia from $1,400; Kalahari $1,619.99; Lansdowne Ultra Firm $1,929.99; Ace Latex and Cotton and Wool $2,900. Foundations and adjustable bases extra (e.g. 5 in and 9 in foundations, Bunkie Board from about $115, power bases).
Value read: Capri undercuts most US-built hotel-supply hybrids; the two-sided Originals compete with specialty two-sided shops rather than bed-in-box; Ace at $2,900 prices against luxury natural latex-wool beds. Confirm street price per size at purchase;.
Not yet researched
White-glove delivery, setup, and old-mattress removal are covered in Delivery & Setup.
Prices and sales discounts come from current brand catalogs. Prices may change during holiday promotions.
Are the expensive ones worth it?
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Model
Buy Pikes Mattress If
Skip If
Buy Instead
Chapter 05
How well do the mattresses hold up?
Why this matters to you: A mattress is a long buy. Lean on the written warranty and real owner reports to judge how it will last.
Durability evidence is maker-reported only. Positives: Miss Virginia and St Augustine are double-sided and flippable, which spreads wear across two sleep surfaces; Kalahari carries a 10-year full replacement warranty against defects; Ace is positioned as hospitality-grade for commercial lodging use; Capri cites a CertiPUR-US foam core for stability over time.
Gaps: no published sag or indentation threshold, no foam densities or coil gauges, no independent durability testing (e.g. rollator), and no brand-wide warranty length for the Pike's-built Originals. Treat long-term comfort life as unverified; flipping the two-sided models per maker guidance is the main documented longevity lever.
What to watch for, and when:
Ownership, deals, lawsuits & launches
Company History & Model Evolution
Show the full company history
1946Founded
an Evansville, Indiana family mattress maker since 1946
August 2024Changed hands
the business changed hands in August 2024
September 14, 2024Fire destroyed store and plant
suffered a total-loss fire on September 14, 2024
Each milestone comes from the brand's own pages, government and court records, or named news reports, each with the date we checked it. Factory suppliers may update minor parts over time.
What we could confirm, and what the brand doesn't say
The left column is what we checked. Rows marked THE BRAND SAYS only report what the brand says. The right column is what the brand doesn't publish. Use the right column as your list of questions for a store or the brand's chat.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
What we checked
What the brand doesn't publish
THE BRAND SAYSTwo-sided, flippable Originals
NOT PUBLISHEDNo sag threshold published
THE BRAND SAYSKalahari 10-year full replacement warranty
NOT PUBLISHEDNo independent durability testing
THE BRAND SAYSMade to order
NOT PUBLISHEDNo warranty length for Originals
THE BRAND SAYSNot yet researched
NOT PUBLISHEDNot yet researched
Where sources disagree
Chapter 06
Sleep trials, returns, exchanges and fees
Why this matters to you: Feel is hard to judge in a store or in a week. Know your exit plan and its cost before you pay.
No sleep-trial length is published on surveyed product or policy pages as of Sept 2026. The posted refund-policy page body contains no mattress-specific return window, mechanics, restocking fees, or exchange terms retrievable as of Sept 2026. Returns, exchanges and fees: not published as of Sept 2026.
Shoppers should confirm trial, return-shipping responsibility, condition requirements, and any custom-order exclusions by phone (812-422-5761) before purchase, especially for the 3-to-5-week custom-built Originals. Kalahari defect remedy runs through its warranty, not a comfort trial.
Your trial, night by night
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
Not yet researchedNot yet researched
What each choice costs you
Keep it$0Nothing more to do
Return itNot publishedNot yet researched
Swap itNot yet researchedNot yet researched
Not covered by the trial: Not yet researched
Figure 6.1: The trial in three dates and three prices. Put the last date in your calendar the day the bed arrives.
Check the terms for your seller and order date before buying from Pikes Mattress.
Chapter 07
Delivery, setup and old-mattress removal
Why this matters to you: Delivery terms decide your first week with the bed. Confirm the date, setup and old-bed removal before you pay.
Ships within the contiguous 48 states only; outside areas need a custom quote. Rates calculated in cart by product and location; most orders ship within 3 business days; many items drop-ship direct from the manufacturer. Made-to-order lead times: Capri Plush 7 to 14 days; Miss Virginia and St Augustine 3 to 5 weeks.
Miss Virginia and St Augustine are local-delivery only, cannot be rolled for UPS parcel shipping, and freight can be quoted but is often nearly as much as the mattress. Foundations sold separately. White-glove setup, old-mattress removal, delivery speed guarantees, and adjustable-base specs: not published as of Sept 2026.
Typical wait: 7 to 14 days
Figure 7.1: What happens between your order and your first night. Clear a path to the bedroom before the team arrives.
Confirm the delivery date, setup and removal terms for your address before ordering.
Chapter 08
Terms checked on the brand's site · recheck before you buy
What do the warranties cover?
Why this matters to you: A warranty is only as good as its terms. Read the written terms and use a supported base, because the wrong frame can end coverage.
No brand-wide warranty length, coverage, sag threshold, exclusions, or claim process is published for Pike's Mattress as a whole as of Sept 2026. Model-level: Kalahari includes an Ortho 10-year full replacement warranty covering manufacturing defects. Ace, Capri Plush and Lansdowne show no warranty terms on their Pike's Brand pages; as Ortho Mattress Inc. builds, Ortho's standard terms may apply, confirm before purchase.
Miss Virginia and St Augustine show no warranty terms on their pages. State implied-warranty rights may apply; confirm transport coverage for freight-shipped Originals in writing.
Covered when the dip is deeper than Not yet researched, measured with nobody on the bed.
Strip the bed down to the mattress and wait a few hours so the top layers can recover.
Lay a straight edge (a broom handle or long level) across the dip, resting on the flat parts.
Measure from the edge down to the deepest point, then photograph the ruler for your claim.
Figure 8.1: How to measure a sag before you file a warranty claim. Drawing not to scale.
Before you set it up
Which bed bases keep your warranty
Warranty rules
Put the mattress on one of the bases marked OK. The wrong base can void the warranty, even on a new bed.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Base
OK?
Power base
Friendly (Originals)
Chapter 09
Review counts checked on each site · they change daily
Customer reviews and complaints
Why this matters to you: Star ratings depend on who posts and where. Read the low-star reviews for patterns, not just the average.
Brand-site ratings: no star ratings, review counts, or testimonial modules found on surveyed Pike's Brand product pages as of Sept 2026. Third-party ratings (Google, BBB, Yelp) for Pike's Mattress of Evansville, Indiana: not published as of Sept 2026. Complaint themes: not published as of Sept 2026.
Context for shoppers: the business changed hands in August 2024, suffered a total-loss fire on September 14, 2024, and now sells online-only with partner builders, so pre-fire store reviews would not reflect the current fulfillment model. Ortho-built models (Ace, Capri, Kalahari, Lansdowne) are manufactured under Ortho Mattress standards and warranties, not Pike's plant warranties.
How we read the reviews
Read each platform on its own: who runs it, its rating scale, how many reviews it has, and the date we checked it.
Reported praise and concerns:
Review sites side by side
What each review site says
Not published
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
Platform
Rating
Sample
Chapter 10
What are the mattresses made of?
Why this matters to you: Layer names say little without numbers. Ask what is inside your exact model, layer by layer.
Kalahari: cotton-blend quilt, gel-infused memory foam comfort layers (double-sided), independent 360-degree honeycomb coils, Solid State foam edge; maker states polyurethane foams free of formaldehyde, flame retardants, prohibited phthalates and heavy metals with low-VOC indoor air-quality standards. Lansdowne: Dunlop latex plus pocketed coils, CoolQuilt and Solidstate comfort layers (thicknesses and densities not published).
Miss Virginia: traditional innerspring, copper-infused cover and foam, seating-grade edge, double-sided. St Augustine: traditional innerspring, seating-grade edge, double-sided. No foam densities, coil counts, latex certifications (e.g.
GOTS, GOLS, OEKO-TEX) or cover fabric specs published as of Sept 2026.
The materials, in plain words
Solid State
Edge support
Used in: Kalahari
CoolQuilt
Quilted cover layer
Used in: Lansdowne
Safety labels, and what each one covers
CertiPUR-US
Capri Plush foam core
Our research sheet lists this certification for Pikes Mattress. We have not yet checked it with the certifier.
What these labels do and don't prove
Read your law tag
How to read the law tag in three steps
Why this matters to you:
Law tag guide
How to read a mattress law tag
The three steps
1
New Zealand wool climate layer
2
Dunlop latex
3
Independent 360-degree honeycomb coils
Full law tag guide, factory code decoding, and the certificate glossary live on our shared safety page.
How to read this: the law tag, the brand's own statements, and certificates each cover different things. A spec the brand doesn't publish isn't proof it's missing; it just isn't shared.
Chapter 11
Where can you try and buy the mattresses?
Why this matters to you: Where you buy sets the price, the trial and who handles problems. Check the seller's terms, not just the brand's.
Online-only at pikesbrand.com (Shopify storefront) following the September 2024 fire that destroyed the Evansville, Indiana store and plant; no showroom to try beds in person. Phone help at 812-422-5761 for firmness selection, per the brand's About page. Miss Virginia and St Augustine are available for local delivery only and cannot be rolled for parcel shipping.
The same storefront also lists third-party mattresses (Brooklyn Bedding, Bear, Avocado, EOS via The Sleep Loft) and Pike's accessories, which are separate brands, not Pike's builds. Sibling builders: Ortho Mattress Inc. builds the Ace, Capri, Kalahari and Lansdowne to hospitality and reserve specs; an unnamed industry partner builds the Originals to Pike's specs with all-American components.
Showroom Network
Online at pikesbrand.com
Not yet researched
Store Access
No showroom
Not yet researched
Sales Culture
Phone help, 812-422-5761
Not yet researched
Inventory & Delivery
Originals local delivery only
Not yet researched
How to test a bed in the store
Where Pikes Mattress sells
A sample to show the mix of store types. Use the brand's store finder for the ones near you.
Scroll sideways to see the whole table
#
Channel
1
Online
Not yet researched. Checked The brand's About page.
Chapter 12
Pikes Mattress vs. other mattress brands
Why this matters to you: A fair comparison needs the same facts for both beds. Line up price, trial and warranty for each one.
Vs Ortho Mattress: four Pike's-listed models (Ace, Capri, Kalahari, Lansdowne) are Ortho builds, so compare Pike's online pricing and freight against Ortho's California showrooms and hospitality division; Pike's wins on access for Midwest online shoppers, loses on try-before-buy. Vs national innersprings (Sealy, Beautyrest): the Originals win on two-sided flippable construction, lose on trial, warranty transparency, and dealer network.
Vs natural latex-wool specialists (Avocado, Savvy Rest style): Ace wins on hotel-luxury positioning but loses on published certifications. Vs value bed-in-box (Brooklyn Bedding, Zinus): Capri wins on US-built hotel-supply story, loses on trial length and review volume.
Competitor details reflect published prices and specs on the date shown. Mattress brands may update prices and trial terms over time.
Chapter 13
How we research and report
This page is an early draft built from our research sheet for Pikes Mattress. We read the brand's own pages and public listings, and we do not test mattresses ourselves. Fields marked "Not yet researched" are still being checked.
Researched September 2026 from official pikesbrand.com pages first (Ace Hotel mattress page; About Us; mattress collection catalog; Shopify product data for all six models; shipping and refund policies), then attempted retailer and third-party review sources.
Brand and maker claims are labeled as such; foam densities, coil counts, certifications, trial terms, warranties (except Kalahari), review ratings and complaint themes were not published or retrievable and are recorded as not found rather than filled. Key sources: pikesbrand.com product pages for Ace, Capri Plush, Kalahari, Lansdowne Ultra Firm, Miss Virginia and St Augustine; pikesbrand.com About Us and shipping policy.
How we check this page
Stage 01Factory
Who built the bed
Stage 02Test results
Outside test results
Stage 03Safety
Fire safety papers and the law tag
Stage 04Pressure and motion
Outside pressure and motion tests
Stage 05Reviews
Review scores, side by side
Quick Answers
Quick Answers Before You Buy
Safety and materials
Buying and policies
Is Pike's Mattress still in business after the fire?
Yes, as Pike's Brand online-only at pikesbrand.com; the Evansville store and plant were destroyed September 14, 2024 and partners now build to Pike's specs.
Which models does Pike's actually make?
A partner builds the Originals (Miss Virginia, St Augustine) to Pike's specs. Ace, Capri, Kalahari and Lansdowne list Ortho Mattress Inc. as vendor.
Is there a sleep trial?
No trial length is published; confirm terms by phone before buying.
Can the Originals ship anywhere?
No, Miss Virginia and St Augustine are local-delivery only and cannot be roll-packed; freight quotes can approach the mattress price.
Are the Pillow Tops flippable?
Yes, both Standard and Pillow Top versions of the Originals are double-sided with identical feel on each face.
What warranty applies?
Only Kalahari publishes one (Ortho 10-year full replacement); others are not published.
Which models are actually made by Pike's?
The Originals (Miss Virginia, St Augustine) are built to Pike's specs by a partner; Ace, Capri, Kalahari and Lansdowne list Ortho Mattress Inc. as vendor.
Prices and promos checked Not yet researched. Recheck before buying.
Find Your Evidence-Backed Match
Need a personalized mattress recommendation?
Answer 6 quick questions about how you sleep, your preferences, and your bed base to compare mattress matches.